## **ACOG Iowa Section Report**

## November 2014

The Iowa ACOG section has just concluded their 2014 Section Meeting, October 24, 2014, in Iowa City at the hotelVetro Conference Center after the annual OB-GYN Post-Graduate Conference. Dr Donald Dudley returned for the week as the Ob/Gyn Department Society Visiting Professor. Alumni Current officers of the ACOG lowa Colleen Section include Stockdale (Secretary/Treasurer), Marygrace Elson (Vice-Chair), and Michael McCov (Chair). Dr. Suzie Wing Lipinski has been nominated for Vice-Chair elect and her term will start September 2015.

There are currently 3 ACOG Fellow's serving on the Iowa Medical Society Board of Directors, Dr. Curtis Paige, Dr. Elson and Dr. Michael Marvarace Dr. Marygrace Elson was McCov. elected the McCain Fellow for District VI 2014 and recently completed two weeks in Washington D.C. She will now serve as District VI Legislative Chair. Dr. Adrianne Racek currently serves as District VI Junior Fellow Vice-Chair and Dr. Abbey Mancuso is the District VI Secretary/Treasurer. Dr. Thad Anderson serves District as Treasurer and Dr. Thomas Gellhaus was just nominated President-Elect of ACOG National and will start his Presidential term in May 2016.

The Iowa ACOG Section 2015 budget is approximately \$9000 and is used to fund the ACOG dues for 20 OB-GYN Residents at the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics and to send the Junior Fellow District Chair and 3-4 Fellows to the Congressional Leadership Conference in Washington D.C. District VI revenue is provided to support activities of the Leopold's Society - the OB-GYN medical student interest group. Funds are also used towards residents' mission project The UI OB/GYN Alumni support. Society also helps support each resident that has an interest in global health mission projects during their residency. If you are not currently a member of ACOG or IMS, please consider joining and supporting or participating in these great efforts.

Several ACOG fellows serve or Chair the committee's in Iowa Medical including Committee Society, on Legislation (Marygrace Elson). Committee on Medical Services (Debra Piehl), Nominating Committee (Thad Anderson, 2013), Maternal Mortality Committee (Thad Anderson, Chair, Stephen Hunter, Susan Lipinski, Carolyn Martin, Michael McCoy and Debra Piehl), Committee on Law and (Stephen Hunter, **Ethics** Linda Railsback).

This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0), which permits unrestricted use, distribution, and reproduction in any medium, provided the original work is properly cited.

Please consider ioining 100 +physicians, residents and medical students for the annual Physicians Day on the Hill with IMS scheduled for Wednesday February 4, 2015, in Des Moines; in the past up to 10 ACOG Fellows and Junior Fellows have participated in this important activity. The Junior Fellows District Advisory Council was held in conjunction with the Wisconsin Section Meeting in August 2014 and their Interim meeting will be during the Congressional Leadership Conference, March 8-10, 2015, in Washington DC. The recent District VI Annual District Meeting was held in Napa, California, September 2014. The District Advisory Council met prior to the Annual District Meeting. The District VI Advisory Council Interim meeting will be February 19-21, 2015, in Houston Texas. The Annual IMS meeting will be May 2-3, 2015, in Cedar Rapids. The ACOG Annual Clinical Meeting will be 2015, San Francisco. May 2-6, California, and the Annual District Meeting will be September 18-20, 2015, in Denver, Colorado, with Districts V,VII, VIII and IX.

During 2013-2014 I chaired the lowa Medical Society Tort Reform Task Force and the Task Forces work continues. An Interim Legislative Study Committee was formed in collaboration with the Iowa Association for Justice. The study committee is working to develop draft legislation to present, hopefully, in the next session of the lowa Legislature. are working to develop Candor/Early Disclosure and Resolution proposal for lowa and there is other work underway Safe Harbor on Legislation and Trial Lawyer Contingency Fee Guidelines.

Michael McCoy, MD, Iowa ACOG Section Chair