The Whigs in the House, having a majority there (with Clifton's help), refused to join the Senate in the election of Senators so long as at least two of the Democratic members who had been challenged remained on the roll. Neither house would budge an inch and on January 25, 1848, the special session of the General Assembly adjourned without a choice of Senators or Supreme Court Judges.

It was not until the Iowa election in August of 1848 that the Democrats secured a definite majority in the General Assembly and on December 7, 1848, were able to name Augustus Caesar Dodge and George W. Jones as United States Senators from Iowa. The long deadlock, the only one of its kind in the history of the United States, was over and Iowa was finally represented in the Senate of the United States.

The seat then taken by Augustus Caesar Dodge has since been occupied by James Harlan, Samuel J. Kirkwood, William B. Allison, Albert B. Cummins, David W. Stewart (interim), Smith W. Brookhart, Louis Murphy, Guy M. Gillette, and the present incumbent, Bourke B. Hickenlooper. A much longer list follows the name of George W. Jones, ending with George A. Wilson, the present incumbent.

RUTH A. GALLAHER