THE PALIMPSEST

Edited by William J. Petersen

Vol. XLII

ISSUED IN NOVEMBER 1961

No. 11

Copyright 1961 by the State Historical Society of Iowa



The Election of 1960

Both parties looked forward eagerly to the 1960 election, each with good reason. Democrats felt they could consolidate their sizeable gains of the last four years. They were all but conceded the open United States Senate seat and were given a 50-50 chance to hold the governorship.

Republicans admittedly were fighting an uphill battle for the senatorship against Governor Herschel C. Loveless, the first Iowa Democrat in two decades to prove his popularity twice in succession at the polls. But they took encouragement from their normally bright presidential election year prospects. They hoped to pile up a big enough margin for their presidential candidate, Vice-President Richard M. Nixon, in his contest with the Democratic nominee, Senator John F. Kennedy, to pull through weaker candidates on the state ticket.

Shortly after the campaign began it became obvious that Nixon would win easily in Iowa. Would his margin be big enough to carry other

Republicans to victory? That was the question. Unexpected help came from Democrats themselves when a split developed between Governor Loveless and Lieutenant Governor Edward J. Mc-Manus, the party's candidate for Governor, lessening their chances to win.

On election day, November 8, 1960, more Iowans voted for President than in 1956 or 1952. They gave Candidate Nixon a whopping 171,816 margin, elected State Senator Jack Miller to the Senate over Governor Loveless by 47,344 votes and chose Attorney General Norman A. Erbe for Governor over Lieutenant Governor McManus by 52,963 votes. Other Republicans enjoyed even more comfortable victory margins. The vote:

Office	Republican		Democrat	
President	Nixon	722,381	Kennedy	550,565
U. S. Senator	Miller	642,463	Loveless	595,119
Governor	Erbe	645,026	McManus	592,063
Lt. Gov.	Mooty	636,796	Hansen	564,668
Sec. of State	Synhorst	658,942	Robinson	541,995
Auditor	Akers	638,727	Hutte	557,375
Treasurer	Abrahamson	660,565	Lawlor	537,242
Sec. of Agri.	Spry	645,336	Hill	556,076
Atty. General	Hultman	638,703	Wilson	551,061

The Republicans also swept all three openings on the Iowa Supreme Court. On the only special issue, the people voted against holding a constitutional convention, 534,628 to 470,257.

Frank T. Nye