THE PALIMPSEST

EDITED BY WILLIAM J. PETERSEN

VOL. XLVI ISSUED IN SEPTEMBER 1965 No. 9

Copyright 1965 by The State Historical Society of Iowa



The Election of 1964

Democrats of Iowa had never had it so good, as the 1964 election neared, since the happy days of the mid-Thirties. Governor Harold E. Hughes was extremely popular as his first term drew to a close. He projected the image of a Chief Executive, with his rugged physique, booming voice, and "Here's where I stand" approach to controversial issues. The question was not whether he would be re-elected but whether he would win big enough to carry the Democratic state ticket into office with him. Republicans gave him an assist by nominating Senator Barry M. Goldwater of Arizona, for President, to run against President Lyndon B. Johnson, the Democratic candidate. He got another assist when Attorney General Evan M. Hultman, his hard-working Republican opponent for Governor, committed last-minute campaign mistakes in an earnest, but frantic and futile, effort to reduce the lead Governor Hughes had enjoyed from the start. As the campaign pro-

425

THE PALIMPSEST

gressed, it became obvious Governor Hughes would be an easy winner and that the people were giving the entire Democratic ticket the once-over.

Both Presidential nominees visited Iowa, as did their Vice-Presidential running mates. In each instance, the Democratic candidates drew larger crowds than their opponents. Even so, no one predicted the heavy Democratic landslide that took place on November 3. President Johnson won by 283,882 votes. But Governor Hughes outpolled him, winning by a margin of 429,479 votes, biggest ever received by any candidate for any public office in the history of Iowa. Moreover, Democrats captured all State offices, six of seven Congressional seats, and control of both chambers of the Iowa General Assembly. Here is how the vote went in Iowa:

426

Office	Democrat		Republican	
President	Johnson	733,030	Goldwater	449,148
Governor	Hughes	794,610	Hultman	365,131
Lt. Gov.	Fulton	648,150	Mooty	473,346
Sec. State	Cameron	607,500	Synhorst	502,577
Auditor	Worthington	609,392	Akers	493,396
Treasurer	Franzenburg	606,108	Abrahamson	502,460
Sec. Agri.	Owen	608,732	Liddy	497,514
Atty. Gen.	Scalise	624,122	Bump	474,841

The one special issue on the ballot, proposing a change in the wording of the constitutional question in Section 3, Article X, of the Iowa Constitution, also carried, 430,657 to 147,220.