T.T.T. in '63

More than half a century has passed since those six enterprising young women organized the T.T.T. Society. Four of those founders today join the nationwide membership in rejoicing, as local and national projects are successfully launched or concluded.

T.T.T. members were saddened by the death of Ethel Stewart Foster in Bismarck, North Dakota, in 1960. Very active in T.T.T. affairs are Gladys Stewart Walters, Des Plaines, Illinois; Mabel Stewart Bales of Iowa City, and Mary Firebaugh Swaney and Bess Cook Budde, both of Mt. Pleasant. These founders often are present at State and National meetings where their messages and counsel are cherished by present-day members.

All have watched with pleasure and pride the growth and achievement of the organization. During the past year, nine new chapters have been added to the roster, making a total of 246 Chapters in nineteen states and the District of Columbia. A recent count showed active membership at 5,097; affiliates, 106; non-resident, 596; and members-at-large, 22 — totaling 5,821.

Several new projects have been launched during

the past year. California chapters have been authorized to supplement a foster home for four girls as a trial project in 1963. The committee studying this plan reports that members still are in the "talking stage," meeting with social workers, prospective foster parents, and official agencies to set up the proper framework for the establishment of the home.

Plans also are underway for the organization of a Leisure Home Association which will study possibilities for the establishment of a retirement home for T.T.T. members.

Picnickers in Saunders Park, Mt. Pleasant, enjoy the commodious shelter house, the gift of the T.T.T. Society in honor of its founders. The shelter house was dedicated in 1959, with Mrs. Annette Ralph, Harvey, Illinois, National president, making the presentation to Mt. Pleasant's mayor and introducing four of the Society's founders, Gladys Stewart Walters, Bess Cook Budde, Mabel Stewart Bales and Mary Firebaugh Swaney. A bronze plaque on the shelter house reveals the names of the founders, the date of the beginning of T.T.T., and the date of the dedication.

When Mrs. Helen Firebaugh Rogers resigned the editorship of *T.T.T. Tidings*, the Society's journal, she was succeeded by Mrs. Lela P. Caris of Chicago, but continues as associate editor. The March, 1954, issue of the magazine was dedicated to Mrs. Rogers and tribute was paid to her at the

Society's National convention for her years of service in many capacities.

Each issue of T.T.T. Tidings contains a message from the National president; announcements of new chapters; letters from local Societies; reports of National and State conventions, and messages from National Officers, Project Director and special committees. Many interesting news items and pictures enliven the pages.

National T.T.T. president for 1963 is Mrs. John R. White of Ft. Wayne, Indiana. State president for Iowa is Mrs. J. M. Moxley of Mt. Pleasant. Heading other State T.T.T. Chapters are Mrs. M. S. Hanson, for California; Miss Camille Eggleston, Illinois, and Mrs. Dwight King, Minnesota.

Past National presidents of T.T.T. include a number of Iowa women. These are Helen F. Rogers, Mt. Pleasant; Arlene Hoover, Wapello; Mabel Monson, Crawfordsville; Harriet Bunker, Newton; Irene Fairall, Des Moines; Frances Wagler, Bloomfield; Doris Smith, Ft. Dodge; Eda Boshart, Washington; Edna Eland, Ames; Lois Winegarden, Wellman; Elizabeth Maasdam, Fairfield; Lenore Weber, Des Moines, and Elouise Sorden, Washington.

Serving with Mrs. Moxley are these Iowa officers: Mrs. Kenneth Wells, Ames, vice-president; Mrs. Kermit Dreier, Hampton, organizer; Mrs. Don Alcorn, Des Moines, recording secretary;

Mrs. Dave De Cook, Sigourney, corresponding secretary; Mrs. Merle J. Brown, Waterloo, treasurer; Mrs. H. Calhoun, Oskaloosa, historian; Mrs. B. A. Fuller, Centerville, parliamentarian; and Mrs. G. L. Bennett, Des Moines, editor, state

page.

The T.T.T. Society doesn't take its official leaders too seriously. Members who have served on the National Executive Board are initiated into the illustrious order of "Has-Beens," at the conclusion of their terms. In Illinois, past T.T.T. presidents become "We Wuzers," and in Iowa, past state officers are designated as "The Tarnished Brass."

During the coming year, T.T.T. Society members will be working for old projects and new; helping as "K. P.'s" and chaperons at their girls' camps, and aiding the needy at home. They will be living up to one of their slogans: "Caring is Sharing."

DOROTHY ASHBY POWNALL