VOLUME 40 NUMBER 3

iowareview.org

FEATURING NEW WORK BY

T.C. Boyle Megan Grumbling Dana Johnson Rebecca Lehmann And the winners of the 2010 *Iowa Review* Awards



University of Iowa is collaborating with JSTOR to digitize, preserve, and extend access to *The Iowa Review*



WINTER 2010/11

FROM THE EDITOR'S NOTE

You may need this recliner. As a point of reference at least. You see, the house is empty, the kids have moved to town, and this house with all its many things from a different time, it can wait. It must. Out in the Iowa quiet. Someone will be out to sort by and by.

It seems that (for contrast maybe) we're celebrating contest winners in this issue, though content-wise we've got a mood going here we're loath to counter. Maybe it's the anticipation of winter. Not that we wallow—we never wallow but we might like to linger once in a while in our seasonal melancholy. It's the kind of reflection that only follows fall, with tiny flickers of vicarious escape—to an island off the California coast, or the high seas, to India, or Thailand, to Palm Springs, to the next town, any town, any other town than this—but tending inward, evaluating what-who we are or have been to now. Tomorrow who knows. The snow may be melted by then.

ON OUR COVER

"Living Room," from the series "2352 Henry Louisa Street," by Jessica Leavengood. Jessica recently graduated from the University of Iowa with a BFA in photography. Four more photographs from "2352 Henry Louisa Street" are featured starting on page 42, and the full series can be viewed online at www.jessicaleavengood.com.



iowareview.org

The Iowa Review is a literary magazine published three times annually by the Department of English and the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences at The University of Iowa.

The Iowa Review is indexed in Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature, Humanities International Complete, Index of American Periodical Verse, and MLA International Bibliography.

Send submissions to 308 EPB, The University of Iowa, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-1408. Subscriptions are \$25 for one year, \$45 for two years, and \$60 for three years. Call our order department at (888) 400-4961 to charge your subscription to Visa or MasterCard, or send a check to P.O. Box 0567, Selmer, TN 38375.

Unsolicited manuscripts are welcome during the fall semester—September, October, and November. Unsolicited work that arrives at any other time will be returned unread. Work without a SASE will be discarded. We do not consider e-mail submissions. Entries for *The Iowa Review* Award should arrive during January. Please look for our annual announcements.

Visit our web site for full guidelines: iowareview.org *The Iowa Review* is set in Fiesta, Freight Sans, and Iowan Old Style, a typeface designed by John Downer. Subscriber services provided by NCS Fulfillment, Inc.



ISSN 0021-065X Copyright © 2010, The University of Iowa. Rights as outlined in our acceptance letter revert to the author on publication.

THE IOWA REVIEW

Editor	Russell Scott Valentino
Managing Editor	Lynne Nugent
Asst. Managing Editor	Catherine Blauvelt
Fiction Editor	Hugh Ferrer
Nonfiction Editor	Robin Hemley
Poetry Editor	Nick Twemlow
Associate Fiction Editor	Michael Fauver
Assoc. Nonfiction Editor	Jenna Hammerich
Associate Poetry Editor	Emily Sieu Liebowitz
Type Composition	Pocket Knife Press
Editorial Assistants	Andrew E. Bates, Jill Erika Jo Brown, Nina Fe Angela Flournoy, Yuly Ar Sara Gilmore, Jordan Fox (

stants Andrew E. Bates, Jill Bodach, Molly Boyle, Erika Jo Brown, Nina Feng, Robert Fernandez, Angela Flournoy, Yuly Andrea Restrepo Garces, Sara Gilmore, Jordan Fox Glubka, Mary Hickman, Jenny Lewis, Jillian Polaski, Daniel Poppick, Katelyn Porubsky, Kristen Radtke, Amy Lee Scott, Lucy Silag, Charity Stebbins, Merritt Tierce, Ryan Van Meter, Zachary Tyler Vickers, Sarah Viren, Jessica Wilson

Interns	Seth Cook, Sarah Kosch
Editorial Board	Lan Samantha Chang, John D. Freyer, Loren Glass, Christopher Merrill, Adalaide Morris, Horace Porter, Cole Swensen

VOLUME 40 NUMBER 3 WINTER 2010/11

	2010 Iowa Review Awards Contest Winners	vi
	Editor's Note	1
	POEM	
Heather Winterer	from Art's Garage	3
Mary Pinard	Song Net for an Estuary	13
Megan Grumbling	Christened	47
	Initiation	49
	Gold, Metaphorically	51
Jae Choi	In the Root Now Opened	66
	The Argument	67
	I Wasn't Expecting Company	69
	Return of the Shantyman	70
	Interview with the Fishwife	72
	echolocation	73
	Interval	74
	A Heaven Have to Happen	75
	Harry Houdini	76
Anthony Madrid	When He Took Me Out with His People	77
	I Wanted to Be an Angel	78
	I Have Passed Too Many Years Among	
	Cool Designing Beings	79
Rebecca Lehmann	The History of Yesterday	111
	Particulate Matter	112
	Particulate Matter	113
	Particulate Matter	114
	PLAY	
Denis Johnson	Purvis (Part Three of Three)	80
	STORY	
Jendi Reiter	Today You Are a Man	28
Kathryn Scanlan	The Old Mill	39

T.C. Boyle	The Rat Savior: An Excerpt from When the	
	Killing's Done	53
Daniel Mueller	At Night We Play Hearts	131
Dana Johnson	Palm Springs, 1985	146
	ESSAY	
Deborah Thompson	Mishti Kukur	115
Patrick Madden	In Media Vita	157
Maria Hummel	The Centipede	185
	ARTWORK	
Jessica Leavengood	2352 Henry Louisa Street	42
	Contributors' Notes	191
	Honor Roll	193
	Index to Volume 40	194

2010 IOWA REVIEW AWARDS CONTEST WINNERS

This issue features the winners of our annual Iowa Review Awards in Poetry, Fiction, and Nonfiction:

FICTION Kathryn Scanlan, "The Old Mill" (page 39)

POETRY Heather Winterer, "from Art's Garage" (page 3)

NONFICTION Deborah Thompson, "Mishti Kukur" (page 115)

Congratulations as well to our runners-up, whose work is also featured in this issue:

NONFICTION: Maria Hummel (page 185) POETRY: Jae Choi (page 66) and Mary Pinard (page 13) FICTION: Jendi Reiter (page 28)

Our thanks to everyone who entered, and to our judges: Michael Cunningham (fiction), Brenda Hillman (poetry), and Jo Ann Beard (nonfiction).

We also announce Saint James Harris Woods as our Tim McGinnis Award winner of 2010 for the most unusually pleasing and unexpected work of the year ("Rabble Letters," 40/2). The award is of \$1000.