Iowa Review

VOLUME NINETEEN

NUMBER TWO

1989



Stephen Dunn, Peter Desy, Anurādhā Mahāpātra, Gerald Stern, Stuart Friebert, Simon Blackburn, Pāramitā Banerjee, Mark Clark, Albert Goldbarth, Peter Waldor, Don Colburn, Sarah Getty, John Leggett, Jane Moreland, Laura Kalpakian, Peter Filkins, Diane Morgan, Adriana Varga, Mallika Sengupta, Marin Sorescu, Douglas Nordfors, Eric Pankey, Aedan Alexander Hanley, Daniel Humphrey, Victor Lopez Martinez, Carolyne Wright

The Iowa Review is a literary magazine published by the Department of English and the Graduate College of The University of Iowa.

David Hamilton, Editor

Mary Hussmann, Managing Editor

Kay Amert, Designer

David Madole, Rochelle Nameroff, and James Boyd White, Assistant Editors

Mary Adams, Lizabeth Carpenter, Nicole Cooley, Kristen E. Gandrow, Jessie Grearson, Juan Felipe Herrera, Bruce Holpert, Carolyn Jacobson, Rebecca L. Johnson, Steve Parrott, L. Dale Rigby, Rosemary Regan-Gavin, Margarita Robles, Anne Schreiber, David P. Wall, Editorial Assistants

Panayot Butchvarov, Maria A. Duarte, Eugenia T. McGee, Allan Megill (Ch.), Fredrick Woodard, Paul Zimmer, Advisory Board.

Our cover images are from "Think of the Color of the Sparrow— Open Edge Series" (1976), ink and acryllic works on paper by Ulfert Wilke (1907–1987), the first director of The University of Iowa Museum of Art. The works, 29" × 20" (front) and 29" × 21" (back), are in the collection of the artist's family. Mark Tade made the photographs.

The Iowa Review is indexed in Abstracts of English Studies, American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies, American Humanities Index, Annual Index to Poetry in Periodicals, Bibliography of English Language and Literature, Index of American Periodical Verse, Index to Book Reviews in the Humanities, and Modern Language Association Bibliography.

Send subscriptions, manuscripts (with SASE), and any inquiries to *The Iowa Review*, 308 EPB, The University of Iowa, Iowa City, IA 52242. We welcome manuscripts from September through April.

Copyright © 1989, by The University of Iowa. All rights reserved.

Spring–Summer 1989 Volume 19, Number 2

Iowa Review

Laura Kalpakian	1	The Battle of Manila
Gerald Stern	25	First Day of Spring
	29	
	30	Saving My Skin from Burning
	30	- ·
	32	An Interview with Gerald Stern
Peter Desy	66	Late Winter Blues
•	67	Homo Corpulos
	68	St. Teresa's
	69	Out of Body
Mary Clark	70	Breasts
-	72	The Guinea Hen
Stephen Dunn	75	The Guardian Angel
	76	Forgiveness
	77	Each from Different Heights
Sarah Getty	78	Forces
Simon Blackburn	91	Why Philosophy?
John Leggett	105	The Candidate's Coattails
Albert Goldbarth	113	How Fast
	114	An Explanation
	114	The Sciences Sing a Lullabye
	115	The Earliest Punctuation
Anurādhā Mahāpātra	117	Village Nocturne
	118	The Peacock
	119	Living in Disguise
Mallika Sengupta	120	Home
	121	Ritual Sacrifice
Peter Waldor	122	
	122	,
Daniel Humphrey	123	
Jane Moreland	141	Fourth of July
Victor L. Martinez	149	The Baseball Glove
Douglas Nordfors	159	A Dog's Life
	160	The Slaughter of Elephants
	162	Twenty-Four Hours

Aedan Alexander Hanley 163 Louanne and the Pack of Kents

164 A Woman by the Mississippi

Marin Sorescu 165 Village Museum

166 The Sacred Fire167 The Mountains

168 Whim

Don Colburn 169 In the Workshop after I Read My Poem

Diane Morgan 171 Ambiguous Pigs

Eric Pankey 175 The Form of Concentration

Peter Filkins 188 The Poetry and Anti-Poetry of Czeslaw Milosz

210 Notes on Contributors

THE IOWA REVIEW ANNOUNCES THE TIM McGINNIS AWARD

We are pleased to announce an annual award of \$500 in the name of Tim McGinnis (1953–1988), a former contributor to our magazine ("The Trail," Vol. 16, No. 2). This award is made possible by the generous contributions of his family and friends. Our intention is to announce a winner each year in our Spring–Summer issue, beginning in 1990, and to choose the winning work from items published during the previous year. We will consider work in any genre we regularly, or irregularly, publish, but will favor those that convey a distinctive comic vision. Also, in keeping with Mr. McGinnis's own circumstances, we will look each year for a writer who is not already widely published. The editor and staff members, in making the award, will be ineligible themselves. In some years, perhaps, we will discover no winner and so make no award; but we hope that will never be the case.