Iowa Review

VOLUME THIRTY-EIGHT NUMBER THREE



Winter 2008/09 • \$9.95



THE IOWA REVIEW

David Hamilton Editor

Hugh Ferrer Fiction Editor

Lynne Nugent Managing Editor

Lauren Barrier Gould Sarah Karon

Assistant Editors

Amber Withycombe Designer

Lisa Angelella, Ian Breen, Rebecca Bridge, Janis Bultman Katie Chase, Jennifer S. Cheng, Olivia Clare, T. Zachary Cotler Elizabeth Cowan, Katy Dion, Jennifer duBois, Braden Hepner T. Geronimo Johnson, Katherine Klein, Megan Knight Justin Latici, Kecia Lynn, Margaret MacInnis, June Melby Nathaniel Minton, Elinathan Ohiomoba, Jennifer Percy Steven Ramirez, Shawn Saler, Zach Savich, Jordan Stempleman Joseph M. Tiefenthaler, Tyler Tritten, Ryan Van Meter

Julia Carrie Wong Editorial Assistants

Martin R. Biro Tara Atkinson Gunyon

Chris Harrison Erica Kalnay

Craig Moreau Interns

Ethan Canin Loren Glass

Christopher Merrill Adalaide Morris

Horace Porter Cole Swensen

Advisory Board

Bob Hicok Yiyun Li

Phillip Lopate Heather McHugh

James Alan McPherson Lia Purpura

Abigail Thomas Contributing Editors

ON OUR COVER: Excerpt from Maggie McKnight's graphic memoir in progress, Misconception: The Story of a Family.

The Iowa Review is a literary magazine published three times annually by the Department of English and the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences at The University of Iowa.

The Iowa Review is indexed in Abstracts of English Studies, American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies, Humanities International Complete, Bibliography of English Language and Literature, Index of American Periodical Verse, Index to Book Reviews in the Humanities, Modern Language Association Bibliography, and Poem Finder (poemfinder.com).

Send submissions and inquiries to 308 EPB, The University of Iowa, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-1408. Subscriptions are \$25 for one year, \$45 for two years, and \$60 for three years. Call our order department at (800) 235-2665 to charge your subscription to VISA or MasterCard, or send a check to the address above.

Unsolicited manuscripts are welcome during the fall semester—September, October, and November. Unsolicited work that arrives at any other time will be returned unread. Work without an SASE will be discarded. We do not consider e-mail submissions. Entries for *The Iowa Review Award* should arrive during January. Please look for our annual announcements.

Visit our web site for full guidelines: iowareview.org

The Iowa Review is set in Iowan Old Style, a typeface designed by John Downer and published by Bitstream Inc.





ISSN 0021-065X

Copyright © 2008, The University of Iowa. Rights as outlined in our acceptance letter revert to the author on publication.

VOLUME THIRTY-EIGHT NUMBER THREE, WINTER 2008/09

v Human Rights Index

2008 Iowa Review Award Contest Winners

| Dave Snyder | 2 | Bamboo Poem |
|---------------------|------------|--|
| Andrew Mortazavi | 8 | Stop Six, Ft. Worth |
| Nancy Geyer | 23 | Where the Children Are |
| Jacob M. Appel | <u>3</u> 6 | Helen of Sparta |
| Stephen Gibson | 49 | Frescoes from the Brancacci Chapel |
| Alexis Nelson | 59 | Between Sand and Sky |
| Mary Austin Speaker | <i>7</i> 1 | Names of the Spade |
| Maggie McKnight | —— 72 | Swingin' |
| Mary Szybist | 80 | Annunciation: Eve to Ave |
| , , , | 81 | Annunciation (from the grass beneath |
| | | them) |
| | 82 | Annunciation in Play |
| | 83 | Annunciation Under Erasure |
| Jericho Brown | 84 | Romans 12:1 |
| | 85 | Track 5: Summertime |
| Taylor Christensen | 87 | Banana Tree: 1964 |
| Judith Skillman | 88 | November Moon, Past Full |
| Patricia Hooper | 89 | The Seabee |
| Will Smiley | 90 | The Last Train to Montparnasse |
| | 92 | She |
| Richard Terrill | 94 | I Kept the Part about Turning Fifty |
| Ron Carlson | 96 | Victory at Sea |
| Michelle Latiolais | 110 | Crazy |
| Charles Harper Webb | 114 | Corn |
| Julianne Buchsbaum | 116 | Let the Mad Dream of Sea-Things in the |
| | | Bay of Bengal |
| Theodore Worozbyt | 117 | How I Love You |
| Anna Himmelrich | 118 | Alberto's Corner (49th and 8th) |
| Robin Chapman | 119 | Rabbit Watcher |

| Gretchen Steele Pratt | 120 | Not even rustles from your red dress, rustles |
|------------------------|----------|---|
| Sands Hall | 121 | Hide & Go Seek |
| James Allardice | | The Dancer |
| - | | |
| Sandra Meek | 137 | |
| Bruce Bond | 139 | Blink |
| | 140 | Day Moon |
| Geoff Bouvier | 142 | Easygoing outburst |
| | 143 | Converse nation |
| Tad Richards | 144 | Memorabilia |
| | 145 | Ghost Town |
| Robert Nazarene | 146 | Forgotten |
| | 147 | Nature's Way |
| Ellen Wehle | 148 | Eros in My Twenties |
| Michelle Brooks | 149 | The Ceiling or the Floor |
| Kate Blakinger | 155 | Inside This New Skin |
| Chris Hosea | 160 | Memento Mori |
| Rosalind Pace | 161 | Extra Socks, With the Water Rising |
| Clare Rossini | 162 | Hill of Doon |
| Shannon Jonas | 164 | the first night alone with Frank |
| | 164 | the third night alone with Frank |
| | 164 | the fifth night alone with Frank |
| | 165 | the sixth night alone with Frank |
| | 165 | the eighth night alone with Frank |
| Anthony Sanders | 166 | Crambe |
| William Ford | 167 | Rock Island |
| Jonathan Wei and | • | |
| Max Rayneard | 171 | from Telling |
| , | , 194 | Notes on Contributors |

Honor Roll

200 Index to Volume 38

199

2008 IOWA REVIEW AWARDS CONTEST WINNERS

This issue features the winners of our annual Iowa Review Awards in Poetry, Fiction, and Nonfiction:

POETRY

Dave Snyder, "Bamboo Poem" Judge: Heather McHugh

FICTION

Andrew Mortazavi, "Stop Six, Ft. Worth"

Judge: Ethan Canin

NONFICTION

Nancy Geyer, "Where the Children Are" Judge: Abigail Thomas

Congratulations as well to our runners-up, whose work appears after that of the winners:

POETRY: Mary Austin Speaker, Stephen Gibson

FICTION: Jacob M. Appel NONFICTION: Alexis Nelson

Our thanks to everyone who entered.

We also announce a tie for our Tim McGinnis Award of 2008 for the most unusually pleasing and unexpected work of the year. Jim Barnes ("Five Villanelles," Spring 2008) and Ron Carlson ("Victory at Sea," in this issue) will split the \$1,000 award.