

Volume 2 is now available.



Featuring interviews with Amy Bloom & Rosanna Warren. New works by Emma Aprile • Ginger Buchholz Justin Butler • Edward Byrne Susanna Childress . Ann Fisher-Wirth . Lisa Glatt . Mara Gorman • Alison Jauss • Mary Jo LoBello Jerome • Nick Norwood Eric Pankey • Alison Powell Melissa Range • Susan Rich Beth Simon • John Struloeff Virgil Suárez • Jim Trainor Emily Tuszynska • Martin Walls

## Submissions %



We consider unpublished poetry and prose from September to April.

For poetry, send 3-6 poems. We are also interested in seeing sequences, part or whole.

For prose, fiction and nonfiction, send one piece no more than 10,000 words.

Payment is one copy. Additional copies available at half price for contributors.

Address manuscripts to the appropriate editor (poetry, fiction, nonfiction):

Center: A Journal for the Literary Arts 202 Tate Hall University of Missouri-Columbia Columbia, MO 65211-1500

\$6 current issue; \$3 back issues

Center is published once annually in the spring; materials arriving after November 20th will likely be held over for the next issue. All submissions must be typed and include a SASE. We cannot be responsible for lost or damaged submissions.

### Hawai'i Pacific Review

An annual literary magazine publishing outstanding poetry, fiction, and personal essays by authors from Hawai'i, the mainland, and around the world.

Individual subscriptions \$8.95 for current issue · \$16.00 for two issues \$22.00 for three issues

Institutional subscriptions
\$10.00 for current issue • \$18.00 for two issues
\$25.00 for three issues

Best of the Decade, 1986-1996 (double issue) \$7.00

All other back issues \$5.00

Manuscripts accepted September 1 through December 31

> Patrice Wilson, Editor Hawai'i Pacific Review

Hawai'i Pacific University
1060 Bishop Street
Honolulu, Hawai'i 96813
E-mail hpreview@hpu.edu
Web site www.hpu.edu

# Salt Hill

Salt Hill is published by a group of writers affiliated with the Creative Writing Program at Syracuse University.

We welcome submissions of poetry, prose, translations, reviews, essays, interviews, and art work. Send us an e-mail or visit our web site for submission guidelines and information on our annual contests.

Recent contributors include Kim Addonizio, Steve Almond, Courtney Eldridge, Brian Evenson, Lisa Jarnot, Bruce Machart, Laura Mullen, D A Powell, Juliana Spahr, Amanda Stern, James Tate, Rebecca Wolff, and Dean Young.

Subscriptions:

\$15/year (individuals). \$20/year (institutions) Sample copies available for \$8 (\$11 foreign)



Salt Hill
Syracuse University
English Department
Syracuse NY 13244
salthill@cas.syr.edu
http://students.syr.edu/salthill

# Iowa Review

PRESENTS THE SECOND ANNUAL

## The Iowa Award

POETRY, FICTION & NONFICTION *Judges to be announced* 

\$1000 TO EACH WINNER
Plus publication in our December 2004 issue

### **SUBMIT DURING JANUARY 2004**

- 1. Submit up to 25 pages of prose or 10 pages of poetry (whether one poem or several). Multiple submissions are fine assuming you advise us of acceptance elsewhere. All submissions will be considered for publication in *The Iowa Review*.
- Manuscripts must include a cover page listing author's name, address, e-mail address and/or telephone number, and the title of each work, but names should not appear on the manuscripts themselves.
- 3. Enclose a \$15 ENTRY FEE (checks payable to The Iowa Review).
- 4. Up to three entries may be offered in each category by adding \$10 for a second submission and \$5 for a third.
- 5. Label your envelope as a contest entry—for example: "Contest: Fiction."
- 6. Postmark submissions between JANUARY 2 & JANUARY 31, 2004.
- 7. Enclose a #10 SASE for final word on your work. Enclose a SAS postcard if you also wish confirmation of entry receipt. Manuscripts will not be returned.
- 8. NO ELECTRONIC SUBMISSIONS.

#### IN THIS ISSUE:

Sharon Wahl, Robert Fink, Lucien Stryk, T. Clayton Wood,
Holly Welker, Noelle Kocot, Paula W. Peterson, Lucy Fuchs,
Jim Barnes, Marianne Boruch, Marjorie Evasco Pernia, Chard deNiord,
Marzanna Kielar, Katherine Vaz, William Trowbridge, Frederick Smock
Charles Mulekwa, S. Diwakar, Rebecca Lilly, Eddin Bu-Eng Khoo,
D.E. Steward, Michael Theune, Jay Parini, Brian Swann,