## HISTORICAL ACTIVITIES

Dr. Paul M. Angle, Secretary of the Illinois State Historical Society since 1932, has resigned to become Director of the Chicago Historical Society.

Dr. James H. Rodabaugh, Director of the Ohio War History Commission, became editor of the War Records Collector on July 1, 1945, succeeding Dr. Lester J. Cappon.

The New York State Historical Association held a meeting at Fenimore House, Cooperstown, N. Y., on August 24, 1945. The guest speaker was Governor Thomas E. Dewey. This was the first meeting held at the new center.

The annual meeting of the State Historical Society of Missouri was held at Columbia on May 2, 1945. The collection of war paintings by Thomas Hart Benton given to the Society in 1944 was on display. Because of the war the annual dinner was omitted.

The Minnesota Historical Society has begun the publication of a series of leaflets with pictures of Minnesota. These will be issued in sets of about a dozen under the title Pictorial Minnesota and are intended for schools, public libraries, lecturers, and various other groups. Set one, "The Indians", includes pictures of a Chippewa hut, a Sioux tepee, a buffalo hunt, gathering wild rice, making maple sugar, playing la crosse, Little Crow, Leading Feather, and the title page of one issue of The Dakota Friend, a monthly magazine published in the Dakota language, by Gideon H. Pond. Set two has the title "Pioneer Buildings and Equipment". It includes pictures of two log cabins, a log schoolhouse, the Chapel of St. Paul, inside views of log cabins, groups of household utensils, the Sibley house, a city house of 1860, and a farm scene of 1870. The price is twenty-five cents per set.

## IOWA

Officers of the O'Brien County Historical Society elected at the

meeting at Primghar on July 30, 1945, were: J. A. Campbell, president; Mrs. Dorothy Church, vice president; and Mrs. Hallie Rosecrans, secretary.

The Pocahontas County Historical Society held a banquet and program at Pocahontas on April 25, 1945. Senator A. J. Shaw delivered an address on Pocahontas County. Clarence Lathrop reported on the marker to be placed on the site of the first courthouse in Pocahontas County.

The Adair County Historical Society held its annual picnic at Greenfield on June 10, 1945. A display of antiques was a feature of the program. Officers elected included: Eli Sullivan, president; A. C. Eatinger, vice president; and Mrs. Nellie Piper, secretarytreasurer.

The Wayne County Historical Society held its annual meeting at Corydon on July 3, 1945. A committee to handle trust funds was proposed and the following officers were selected: president, W. H. Burton; vice president, F. B. Fry; curator, Roy Grimes; treasurer, Grant Kelley; and secretary, Harry Hibbs.

The Ringgold County Historical Society held its annual meeting at Mt. Ayr on July 19, 1945. Guest speaker was Nelson Mason, a former resident of the county. M. L. Spurrier paid tribute to George Montgomery Kirby, a founder of the society. Officers elected were: Earl T. Hoover, president; Vera F. Dickens, secretary; and Clint D. Allyn, treasurer.

The Mahaska County Historical Society held its annual meeting at Oskaloosa on May 9, 1945. Charles D. Mattix gave a biographical sketch of his father, Aaron W. Mattix, and Charles A. Kent discussed the collection of antiques. Officers elected were: president, John C. Bradbury; vice president, Owen H. Jones; secretary, Mrs. George Kalbach; and treasurer, E. L. Butler.

## THE STATE HISTORICAL SOCIETY OF IOWA

Miss Ethyl E. Martin, Superintendent of the State Historical Society of Iowa, has been appointed a member of the committee on nominations by the president of the American Association for State and Local History.

Dr. John Ely Briggs, who has been editor of *The Palimpsest* since September, 1922, has resigned his position with the State Historical Society and will give full time to his work in the Political Science Department of the State University of Iowa. Beginning with the issue for October *The Palimpsest* will be edited by Dr. Ruth A. Gallaher.

At the annual meeting of the Society, held on Monday, June 25th, the following were elected to serve as members of the Board of Curators for the biennium ending June 30, 1947: Mr. Marvin H. Dey, Mr. Thomas Farrell, Dr. R. H. Volland, Mr. Merritt C. Speidel, Mr. R. G. Popham, Mr. William R. Hart, Dr. Ralph A. Fenton, Mr. Burton V. Bridenstine, and Dr. Harry R. Jenkinson, all of Iowa City, Iowa.

Governor Robert D. Blue has appointed the following persons to serve as Curators of the State Historical Society for the biennium ending June 30, 1947: Mrs. John Hammill, Britt, Iowa; Mr. O. J. Henderson, Webster City, Iowa; Mrs. Margaret J. Hinderman, Wapello, Iowa; Mrs. O. J. Kirketeg, Bedford, Iowa, Mrs. Anna M. Morrison, Grundy Center, Iowa; Mr. Henry K. Peterson, Council Bluffs, Iowa; Mr. Clifford Powell, Red Oak, Iowa; Mrs. Lloyd Thurston, Osceola, Iowa; and Mrs. Helen L. Vanderburg, Boyden, Iowa.

The following persons have recently been elected to membership in the Society: Mr. Leland L. Sage, Cedar Falls, Iowa; Mr. O. W. Crowley, Des Moines, Iowa; Mr. Roy C. Gillett, Oskaloosa, Iowa; Mr. Ralph Green, Des Moines, Iowa; Rt. Rev. Elwood L. Haines, Davenport, Iowa; Mr. Glen Shafer, Sigourney, Iowa; Mrs. E. L. Alcorn, Ottumwa, Iowa; Mr. Emmett C. Gardner, Iowa City, Iowa; Mr. Fred H. Johnson, Chicago, Ill.; Mr. Frank L. McCormick, Des Moines, Iowa; Mr. G. L. Ziemer, Des Moines, Iowa; Mr. Edward J. Dahms, Cedar Rapids, Iowa; Mr. Arthur F. Draheim, Sr., Clarion, Iowa; Mrs. Daisy Martin Duckworth, Centerville, Iowa; Miss Ellen E. Johnson, Cedar Rapids, Iowa; Mr. Herbert H. Waller, Fort

Dodge, Iowa; Mrs. Frank C. Baker, New York City; Miss Wilma J. Dick, Des Moines, Iowa; Mrs. C. A. Heath, Waterloo, Iowa; Mr. G. M. Ludwig, Tiffin, Iowa; Mrs. Loren G. Thomas, West Des Moines, Iowa; and Miss Irene L. Vesey, Boone, Iowa.

The following persons have been enrolled as life members of the Society: Rev. P. A. Bissen, Earling, Iowa; Mrs. Vivian Dean, Tipton, Iowa; Miss Margaret Dorweiler, Cedar Falls, Iowa; Mr. John A. Greenlee, Ames, Iowa; Miss Hellen M. Ham, Dubuque, Iowa; Mr. Adolph V. Jensen, Council Bluffs, Iowa; Mr. W. A. Longnecker, Oskaloosa, Iowa; Miss Bessie L. Lyon, Webster City, Iowa; Mr. Herbert W. Mennig, Sheldon, Iowa; Mr. John S. Nollen, Grinnell, Iowa; Mr. Fred Crego Smith, Osage, Iowa; Dr. C. A. Boice, Washington, Iowa; Miss Mary P. Caldwell, Cedar Falls, Iowa; Mrs. Ethel G. Inman, Indianola, Iowa; Dr. George A. May, Des Moines, Iowa; Mr. Seth F. Shenton, Indianola, Iowa; Mr. O. J. Felton, Cedar Rapids, Iowa; and Miss Barbara L. Sawyer, Montrose, Iowa.