NOTES AND COMMENT

The Pioneer Lawmakers of Iowa did not hold its usual meeting during the legislative session of 1945 because of wartime restrictions on travel.

The joint meetings of the American Economic Association, the American Political Science Association, and the American Society for Public Administration, scheduled for February 1-4, 1945, were cancelled on account of war conditions.

The Pioneer Club of Woodbury County held a meeting at Sioux City on April 28, 1945. Neil Miller discussed "Pioneers". Mrs. Phil Carlin was inducted as the new president and given a gavel made from wood used in the cabin of Theophile Bruguier.

A group of women in Pocahontas County met at the home of Mrs. Matie L. Baily at Pocahontas on March 29, 1945, and organized a Literary Study Club for the study of county and State history. Mrs. J. J. Kelleher was elected president and Miss Dorothy Wessels secretary.

Mrs. Louis B. Schmidt of Ames has announced that the Iowa Society of Mayflower Descendants has contributed \$610 to the fund raised to purchase the historic Winslow House at Plymouth, Massachusetts. The building will become the headquarters of the General Society of Mayflower Descendants.

Howard H. Peckham, former Curator of Manuscripts at the Clements Library at the University of Michigan, has been appointed Director of the Indiana Historical Bureau succeeding Christopher B. Coleman who died last year. Mr. Peckham will also serve as Secretary of the Indiana Historical Society.

CONTRIBUTORS

- Elbert W. Harrington, Department of English and Speech, University of Colorado. (See The Iowa Journal of History and Politics, October, 1941, p. 442.)
- CHARLES EDWARD SNYDER, Unitarian clergyman, Davenport, Iowa. (See The Iowa Journal of History and Politics, January, 1944, p. 112.)

THE STATE HISTORICAL SOCIETY OF IOWA

ESTABLISHED BY LAW IN THE YEAR 1857. INCORPORATED: 1867 AND 1892 LOCATED AT IOWA CITY IOWA

BOARD OF CURATORS

Elected by the Society MARVIN H. DEY R. G. POPHAM H. O. BERNBROCK ESTHER BERGMAN NAREY

R. H. VOLLAND RALPH A. FENTON

MERRITT C. SPEIDEL BURTON V. BRIDENSTINE GRANGER P. MITCHELL W. W. WAYMACK HARRY R. JENKINSON

Appointed by the Governor

THOMAS FARRELL WILLIAM R. HART T. HENRY FOSTER HENRY K. PETERSON NORMA HAUGEN JOHNSON CLIFFORD POWELL

OFFICERS

EXECUTIVE AND ADMINISTRATIVE STAFF

ETHYL E. MARTIN SUPERINTENDENT BUTH A. GALLAHER..... ASSOCIATE EDITOR J. A. SWISHER RESEARCH ASSOCIATE JEAN P. BLACK LIBRARY ASSOCIATE ADELAIDE GILL SEEMUTH ASSISTANT DOROTHY H. GAY SECRETARY TO SUPERINTENDENT HAROLD C, BURKHALTER GENERAL ASSISTANT

MEMBERSHIP

Any person may become a member of THE STATE HISTORICAL SOCIETY OF Iowa upon election by the Board of Curators and the payment of an entrance fee of \$3.00.

Membership in this Society may be retained after the first year upon the payment of \$3.00 annually.

Members of the Society shall be entitled to receive the quarterly and all other publications of the Society during the continuance of their membership.

Address all Communications to

THE STATE HISTORICAL SOCIETY IOWA CITY IOWA



