## NOTES AND COMMENT

Maurice held an old settlers' picnic on September 1, 1941, commemorating the fiftieth anniversary of the incorporation of the town. The celebration included a display of antiques.

The Southwest Iowa Pioneer Association held its annual reunion at Shenandoah on October 3, 1941. W. E. Gaston was elected president; William Kemp, vice president; Guy L. Pond, secretary; and Mrs. George Blackburn, treasurer.

The Moingona old settlers held their annual homecoming at Moingona on August 31, 1941. Relics were on display. Frank Prescholdt of Manilla was reëlected president and Walter Stephney of Moingona was chosen secretary.

Old settlers at Magnolia held their fifty-seventh annual meeting at that town on August 21, 1941. The chief speaker was Hugh Tamisiea of Missouri Valley. D. A. Van Cleave of Missouri Valley was elected president, and Miss Alice Lenz secretary.

The Iowa Library Association held its fifty-second annual conference at Ames on September 6-19, 1941. Speakers included Mrs. Horace M. Towner, W. W. Waymack, Frank Luther Mott, Charles H. Brown, John T. Frederick, W. Earl Hall, Bob Burlingame, and Paul Engle. Officers elected for 1942 are: Evelyn Spencer Bray, president; Frances Warner, first vice president; and Ruby Taylor, treasurer.

The Iowa State Teachers Association held its 88th meeting at Des Moines on November 5–7, 1941, with a long program and an attendance of some 12,000 teachers. Arthur C. Deamer, Superintendent of Schools at Cedar Rapids for the past twenty-one years, was elected president; Carl T. Feelhaver of Fort Dodge, vice president; and Ernest A. Zelliot, director of business education in the Des Moines schools, treasurer. Agnes Samuelson is the executive secretary.

## 112 IOWA JOURNAL OF HISTORY AND POLITICS

Fred L. Mahannah, Assistant Superintendent of Public Instruction from 1927 to 1938, and Assistant Curator of the Iowa State Department of History and Archives since 1938, died on October 12, 1941. Mr. Mahannah was born at North English, Iowa, on August 18, 1874, and was a graduate of Cornell College. He was county superintendent of Cerro Gordo County from 1906 to 1911, State Normal Training School Inspector from 1911 to 1916, and Superintendent of the Iowa Soldiers' Orphans' Home from 1916 to 1920.

#### CONTRIBUTORS

Marcy G. Bodine. Born at Peoria, Illinois, on September 24, 1905. Educated in the Peoria public schools. Received a B. S. degree from Bradley College in 1928, the M. A. degree from the State University of Iowa in 1935, and the Ph. D. degree from the same institution in 1938. Member of Pi Gamma Mu and Phi Delta Kappa. Is now in the Department of History, Western State Teachers College, Macomb, Illinois.

George Bernhardt Hartman, Ames, Iowa. Born at Eddyville, Iowa, on November 28, 1894. Educated in the public schools and at the Iowa State College. Received the degree of B. S. in 1917, M. S. degree in 1941, majoring in Forest Utilization. Member Phi Kappa Phi, Gamma Sigma Delta, Alpha Zeta, the Society of American Foresters, Iowa Academy of Science, and the State Historical Society of Iowa. Served in the U. S. Army, 1917–1919, Instructor in Forestry at the A. E. F. University, Beaune (Cote d'Or), France, engaged in the wood preserving industry, 1919–1935, since 1935 Assistant Professor of Forestry at the Iowa State College. Author of articles in The Ames Forester, 1922, 1928, and 1936.

## THE STATE HISTORICAL SOCIETY OF IOWA

ESTABLISHED BY LAW IN THE YEAR 1857 INCORPORATED: 1867 AND 1892 LOCATED AT IOWA CITY IOWA

### BOARD OF CURATORS

Elected by the Society

Appointed by the Governor

Marvin H. Dev R. G. Popham Walter H. Beall Granger P. Mitchell

Thomas Farrell William R. Hart H. O. Bernbrock Esther Bergman Narey
R. H. Volland Ralph A. Fenton T. Henry Foster Henry K. I Pophanon

Merritt C. Speidel Burton V. Bridenstine Norma Haugen Johnson Clifford Powell.

Harry R. Jenkinson W. W. Waymack

#### OFFICERS

# EXECUTIVE AND ADMINISTRATIVE STAFF

| ETHYL E. MARTINSUPERINTENDENT          |
|--|
| JOHN ELY BRIGGSEDITOR                  |
| RUTH A. GALLAHER ASSOCIATE EDITOR      |
| J. A. SWISHERRESEARCH ASSOCIATE        |
| WILLIAM J. PETERSEN RESEARCH ASSOCIATE |
| ADELAIDE M. GILLLIBRARY ASSISTANT      |
| MARIE HAEFNERLIBRARY ASSISTANT         |
| DOROTHY F. HALLOCK                     |
| HELEN E. PYLE                          |
| MAX H. OHRISTIEGENERAL ASSISTANT       |

#### MEMBERSHIP

Any person may become a member of The State Historical Society of Iowa upon election by the Board of Curators and the payment of an entrance fee of \$3.00.

Membership in this Society may be retained after the first year upon the payment of \$3.00 annually.

Members of the Society shall be entitled to receive the quarterly and all other publications of the Society during the continuance of their membership.

Address all Communications to
THE STATE HISTORICAL SOCIETY IOWA CITY IOWA



