HISTORICAL ACTIVITIES

The Ohio State Archaeological and Historical Society has decided to retain its original name for the present, because of some irregularity in the procedure by which the name was changed at the Annual Meeting on March 26, 1931.

A new Laboratory of Anthropology has recently been opened at Santa Fe, New Mexico. Speakers were Director Jesse L. Nusbaum of the Laboratory, Governor Arthur Seligman of New Mexico, Dr. Clark Wissler of the American Museum of Natural History, and Dr. A. V. Kidder of Phillips Academy at Andover, Massachusetts.

Dr. Theodore C. Blegen, who was elected superintendent of the Minnesota Historical Society in June, took up his work on September 1, 1931. Dr. Blegen succeeded Dr. Solon J. Buck who resigned to take a position at Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, where he is head of the Western Pennsylvania Historical Survey, director of the Historical Society of Western Pennsylvania, and professor of history in the University of Pittsburgh.

The Indiana Historical Society and the Society of Indiana Pioneers made an historical pilgrimage on June 20 and 21, 1931, beginning at Indianapolis. The party visited the Spring Mill State Park, Paoli, Tell City, Cannelton, Lincoln City, St. Meinrad's Abbey, and West Baden. At Lincoln City the members of the party visited the grave of Nancy Hanks Lincoln. Another trip to places of historical interest will be made late in October.

The annual business meeting of the Agricultural History Society was held at Washington, D. C., on May 6, 1931. The program included a paper by A. G. McCall on "The Development of Soil Science" and the presidential address by Avery O. Craven on "Edmund Ruffin, Farmer". Joseph Schafer, of the State Historical Society of Wisconsin, was elected president for 1931-1932;

W. Freeman Galpin, of Syracuse University, vice president; and O. C. Stine, of the United States Department of Agriculture, secretary-treasurer.

IOWA

A bronze marker in honor of Zachariah Lawrence, a soldier of the War of 1812, was dedicated at Corning on June 14, 1931.

Early in June alumni and friends of Drake University observed the fiftieth anniversary of the founding of the school.

On September 28, 1931, The Des Moines Register began a weekly series of lessons on Iowa history, prepared by Hubert L. Moeller.

On June 14, 1931, the John See Chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution dedicated a tablet marking the site of the first brick schoolhouse in New London.

A bronze tablet containing the names of twenty-eight Pocahontas County men who died in the service during the World War was dedicated at Pocahontas on July 4, 1931.

The Appanoose County Historical Society held its annual meeting at the Drake Public Library at Centerville on June 20, 1931. The following persons were elected as officers: Mrs. Paul Veitch, president; Mrs. A. P. Speers, vice president; and Mrs. Sherman Shore, secretary-treasurer.

Eight of the ten living members of the Pioneer Settlers' Association of Scott County attended the Diamond Jubilee meeting at the Davenport Outing Club on August 26th. The association was organized seventy-five years ago with an enrollment of approximately 800 members, all those who were born or settled in Scott County prior to December 31, 1846, being eligible to membership.

A further index to the fact that Iowa is growing older may be noted in the number of cities and counties which recently celebrated their founding. Clayton County presented a historical pageant at Elkader on July 4, 5, 1931. Mitchell County concluded a four day celebration at Osage with a pageant on July 5th. Louisa County

observed the seventy-fifth anniversary of the granting of the charter to the City of Wapello on July 15, 16, and 17. Two Clinton County cities will celebrate anniversaries this year: Clinton the seventy-fifth, and DeWitt the ninetieth. Chariton plans the celebration of its seventy-fifth birthday in June, 1932.

Many churches in Iowa have recently celebrated anniversaries. On July 5, 1931, the Kossuth Presbyterian Church celebrated its ninety-second anniversary; St. Mary's Roman Catholic Church at Iowa City observed the ninetieth anniversary of the laying of the cornerstone on July 12th; the First Congregational Church of DeWitt observed its eighty-ninth birthday on July 10th; the Presbyterian Church at Salina, the Glenwood Methodist Episcopal Church, and the Methodist Episcopal Church at Fredericksburg recently held special programs and services in honor of their seventy-fifth anniversaries. At Locust, Iowa, the seventieth anniversary of St. John's Lutheran Church was observed on July 11 and 12, 1931.

THE STATE HISTORICAL SOCIETY OF IOWA

On August 13, 1931, William J. Petersen, Research Associate of the State Historical Society of Iowa, gave an illustrated lecture on "Early Steamboating on the Upper Mississippi" before the American School of Wild Life Protection at McGregor. The following day, August 14th, he gave a description of the voyage of the Virginia, the first steamboat on the Upper Mississippi River.

The following persons have recently been elected to membership in the Society: Mr. J. C. Buffington, Omaha, Nebraska; Mrs. James E. Fitzgerald, Sioux City, Iowa; Mr. Kirk Fox, Des Moines, Iowa; Mr. Geo. J. Fritschel, Dubuque, Iowa; Miss Juliet Hammond, Iowa City, Iowa; Mrs. J. L. Potter, Iowa City, Iowa; Miss Edith Rule, Mason City, Iowa; Mr. Arthur Torson, Cedar Rapids, Iowa; Mr. George W. Webber, Des Moines, Iowa; Miss Lois A. Grimm, Waukon, Iowa; Mr. Chas. K. Meyers, Denison, Iowa; Mr. Boyd Carlisle Shafer, Iowa City, Iowa; Mr. W. Norris Wentworth, Madison, Wisconsin; Mrs. Albert F. Winkler, Sac City, Iowa; Mr. Chester L. Carter, Creston, Iowa; Dr. Corwin S. Cornell, Knox-

ville, Iowa; Miss Florence Knight Kent, West Union, Iowa; Mrs. Mary S. Kelleher, Fort Dodge, Iowa; Mr. J. F. McCaffery, Clermont, Iowa; Mr. M. M. McIntire, Audubon, Iowa; Mrs. Earl J. Miller, Olds, Iowa; Miss Evelyn M. Neese, Des Moines, Iowa; Dr. Geo. L. Roark, Tabor, Iowa; Mrs. Mary E. D. Robinson, Omaha, Nebraska; and Miss Mabel Snedaker, Iowa City, Iowa.

The following persons have been enrolled as life members: Mr. L. T. Bosworth, Manly, Iowa; Mr. Joseph J. Clark, Mason City, Iowa; Mr. Wm. Cochrane, Red Oak, Iowa; Mr. J. A. Devitt, Oskaloosa, Iowa; Mr. C. S. Harper, Ottumwa, Iowa; Mr. Charles C. Heninger, Sigourney, Iowa; Mr. Geo. A. Ide, Creston, Iowa; Mr. Geo. F. Kay, Iowa City, Iowa; Mr. J. E. E. Markley, Mason City, Iowa; Mr. J. A. Miller, Cherokee, Iowa; Mr. T. J. B. Robinson, Hampton, Iowa; Mr. H. T. Rollins, Des Moines, Iowa; Mr. Fred W. Sargent, Chicago, Ill.; Mr. Wm. Schultz, Marengo, Iowa; Mr. Henry Silwold, Newton, Iowa; Mr. Milton A. Smith, Independence, Iowa; Mr. J. J. Snell, Boone, Iowa; Mr. U. S. Vance, Laurens, Iowa; Mr. E. P. Chase, Atlantic, Iowa; Mr. Chris Erickson, Chester, South Dakota; Mr. A. M. Fellows, Lansing, Iowa; Mr. Edward M. McCall, Fort Dodge, Iowa; Mr. Frank T. Nash, Oskaloosa, Iowa; Mr. C. H. Northup, Ollie, Iowa; Mrs. H. R. Reynolds, Camp Custer, Michigan; Mr. C. B. Upham, Washington, D. C.; Mr. E. W. Weeks, Guthrie Center, Iowa; Mr. Sudhindra Bose, Iowa City, Iowa; Mr. Chas. A. Herring, Fairfield, Iowa; and Mr. Geo. F. Robeson, Iowa City, Iowa.