HISTORICAL ACTIVITIES

The Missouri Historical Society held a meeting at the Jefferson Memorial on the evening of January 30, 1931. Judge J. Hugo Grimm gave an address on "Germany's Contribution to Missouri".

The Oklahoma Historical Society held its annual meeting at the Historical Society Building at Oklahoma City on January 29, 1931. Hon. Victor Murdock of Wichita, Kansas, gave an address at the evening meeting.

The Historical and Philosophical Society of Ohio celebrated its one hundredth anniversary on February 11, 1931. The program was held at Cincinnati, Ohio, and consisted of three parts: an afternoon program with addresses; a visit to the monument marking the site of Fort Washington; and a dinner.

The twenty-fourth annual meeting of the Mississippi Valley Historical Association will be held at Lexington, Kentucky, on April 30-May 2, 1931. Professor John L. Oliver, of the University of Pittsburgh, is chairman of the program committee, and Professor Charles M. Knapp, of the University of Kentucky, at Lexington, is chairman of the committee on local arrangements. A number of papers have been included on the program. The subject of the presidential address by Dr. Louise Phelps Kellogg will be "France and the Mississippi Valley".

The Minnesota Historical Society held its eighty-second annual meeting at St. Paul on January 19, 1931. The program included the following papers and addresses: "Some Personal Recollections of Minnesota Politics", by J. Adam Bede; "Selections from the Reminiscences of William Watts Folwell", read by Solon J. Buck; and "The Persistence of Populism", by John D. Hicks. There were also motion pictures from the Grand Portage region, taken in August, 1930. The Eleventh Annual Conference on Local History Week in Minnesota was held in connection with the meeting.

At this meeting Theodore C. Blegen gave a report on "The Year's Progress in Local Historical Work".

IOWA

The Webster County Historical Society was organized at Fort Dodge on January 14, 1931. Mayor C. V. Findlay presided at the meeting and was later elected president of the society. H. M. Pratt was elected vice president; Mrs. D. M. Kelleher, secretary; J. L. Hanrahan, treasurer; and Miss Maude Lauderdale, curator. The society has already made plans to establish a museum and make a collection of historical relics.

The Historical Society of Howard County held a monthly meeting at Cresco on February 9, 1931. Miss Lauraine Meade who was one of the founders of the Society was enrolled as an honorary life member. A resolution of respect was adopted in honor of the late Mrs. J. I. Rowlee. J. H. Rowe gave a review of *Trails*, *Rails and War*, by J. R. Perkins, with pictures from along the line of the Union Pacific Railroad. C. J. Harlan is secretary of the Society.

The date selected for the sixth Iowa History Week is April 20-25, 1931. The central theme is "Ioway to Iowa", a subject taken from the title of Irving B. Richman's new book, Ioway to Iowa: The Genesis of a Corn and Bible Commonwealth. As an aid to the observance of Iowa History Week, the March number of The Palimpsest contained excerpts from the book, and selections from it were broadcast from WSUI on Friday afternoons during March. The program for the week will include two talks by Hamlin Garland to be given over WSUI on April 20th. From 9:30 to 10:00 in the morning Mr. Garland will talk to Iowa high schools and from 3:00 to 3:30 in the afternoon he will address the women's clubs of the State. Iowa History Week was inaugurated in 1926 by the State Historical Society in coöperation with the Iowa Federation of Women's Clubs.

THE STATE HISTORICAL SOCIETY OF IOWA

On February 13 and 14, 1931, Dr. Benjamin F. Shambaugh attended a meeting of the newly created Committee on Policy of the

American Political Science Association, which was held at Princeton, New Jersey. Dr. Shambaugh is chairman of a sub-committee working on a comprehensive plan of publications to be undertaken by the Association.

On December 10, 1930, Dr. William J. Petersen, Research Associate on the staff of the State Historical Society of Iowa, gave a talk on Daniel Smith Harris, Mississippi River steamboat captain, before the Lions Club at Iowa City. On February 23, 1931, he gave an illustrated talk on steamboating on the Upper Mississippi before the Des Moines History Club. "Centennials in Iowa History" was the topic of an address delivered by Dr. Petersen at Oelwein on March 9th.

The State Historical Society has recently published a unique book on early Iowa history, under the title Ioway to Iowa: The Genesis of a Corn and Bible Commonwealth. It is the work of Irving B. Richman of Muscatine, who is well-known as an historical writer. Among his earlier volumes are: John Brown Among the Quakers and Other Sketches; Rhode Island: A Study in Separatism (American Commonwealths Series); California Under Spain and Mexico 1535-1847; San Francisco Bay and California in 1776; and The Spanish Conquerors (Chronicles of America Series). His new book is written in an unusual and pleasing literary style. In addition to historical facts, it presents a keen analysis of the forces which have moulded the land of Ioway into the Commonwealth of Iowa. In this volume of four hundred and seventy-nine pages, with its dramatic presentation of events, its portrayal of humor and pathos, and its vivid description, Mr. Richman may be said to have skimmed the cream from Iowa's history. Illustrations in colors add to the beauty of the book.

The following persons have recently been elected to membership in the Society: Col. J. E. Bartley, Oskaloosa, Iowa; Mr. Milo O. Hanzlik, Cedar Rapids, Iowa; Miss Louella Hightshoe, Ottumwa, Iowa; Mr. David W. Smouse, Los Angeles, Calif.; Mr. C. M. Stoner, Gibson, Iowa; Mrs. Etta A. Branson, Spirit Lake, Iowa; Mrs. Will Dyall, Mt. Pleasant, Iowa; Mrs. C. W. Gill, Iowa City, Iowa; Mr.

E. L. Kirkpatrick, Madison, Wisconsin; Mr. Arnold W. Koch, Jefferson, Iowa; Mrs. Harry E. Narey, Spirit Lake, Iowa; Mr. Ernest A. Prehm, Northwood, Iowa; Mrs. Peter Salzman, Brighton, Iowa; Mr. H. J. Thornton, Iowa City, Iowa; Mr. A. J. Widman, McGregor, Iowa; Mr. John D. Beardsley, Sioux City, Iowa; Mr. R. H. Beerman, Omaha, Nebraska; Dr. Harold H. Buhmann, West Union, Iowa; Mrs. Charlotte K. Butler, Peterson, Iowa; Mr. Seth B. Cairy, Whittemore, Iowa; Mr. Arthur W. Cober, Marshalltown, Iowa; Mrs. James E. Coons, Mt. Pleasant, Iowa; Mr. L. E. Ellis, Des Moines, Iowa; Mr. G. O. Fletcher, Cedar Rapids, Iowa; Mr. C. C. Gallagher, Maquoketa, Iowa; Mr. William D. Gould, Mt. Pleasant, Iowa; Lt. Col. Chas. H. Grahl, Des Moines, Iowa; Mr. James H. Graven, Greene, Iowa; Dr. C. E. Gross, Ottumwa, Iowa; Mr. C. O. Hoyt, Des Moines, Iowa; Mrs. D. S. Humeston, Albia, Iowa; Mr. C. W. Keyser, Iowa City, Iowa; Mr. Frank Krejci, Lake View, Iowa; Miss Maude Lauderdale, Fort Dodge, Iowa; Mr. C. C. Linsenmeyer, Fort Madison, Iowa; Mr. Eugene A. Loetscher, Dubuque, Iowa; Mr. Robert H. McConnell, Thornburg, Iowa; Mr. E. A. Marks, West Branch, Iowa; Rev. J. T. Meyer, La Moille, Ill.; Mr. Oliver H. Miller, Des Moines, Iowa; Mr. R. C. Montgomery, Cedar Rapids, Iowa; Mr. George W. Myers, Dubuque, Iowa; Mr. Paul A. Olson, Story City, Iowa; Mr. Tracy R. Osborne, New Sharon, Iowa; Mr. Gerhard Ottersberg, Waverly, Iowa; Mr. Henry C. Pepper, Iowa City, Iowa; Mr. Ray S. Pierce, Des Moines, Iowa; Mr. J. A. Prichard, Onawa, Iowa; Mr. Wm. W. Purcell, Cedar Rapids, Iowa; Mr. Albert Rocho, Boone, Iowa; Mr. Chas. B. Searle, Ottumwa, Iowa; Mr. H. F. Schmidt, Treynor, Iowa; Mr. E. J. Sullivan, Marengo, Iowa; Mr. William S. Timberman, Keokuk, Iowa; Mr. Frank Van Doren, Keokuk, Iowa; Mr. Robert R. Whetstone, Iowa City, Iowa; and Rev. G. B. Wilder, Red Oak, Iowa.