HISTORICAL ACTIVITIES

The Historical Bureau of the Indiana Library and Historical Department has recently published the third volume in the series *Constitution Making in Indiana*, compiled and edited by Charles Kettleborough. It covers the years from 1916 to 1930. This publication is Volume XVII in the *Indiana Historical Collections*.

A special meeting of the Illinois State Historical Society was held at Rock Island, Illinois, on September 14 to 20, 1930, in cooperation with the Sesqui-Centennial Committee, to celebrate the westernmost campaign of the Revolutionary War. The program included sermons on the theme, "Historical Backgrounds", on Sunday, a visit to the Indian village on Monday, a meeting of the Historical Society on Tuesday, a meeting of pioneers and old settlers on Wednesday, a concert by the United States Marine Band on Thursday evening, a pageant by the public school children of Rock Island on Friday, and an historical parade on Saturday.

IOWA

The Union County Historical Society sponsored an old settlers gathering at Creston on August 7, 1930. A display of old flags was one feature of the program. W. J. Donlin is president of the Society.

Interested residents of Farragut and the Daughters of the American Revolution of Shenandoah are planning to restore the old Mormon cemetery in the Manti woods near Farragut. This cemetery was started about 1852.

The Norway Memorial Pioneer Association held its third meeting at Norway on August 10, 1930. Dwight Krumbholtz was the chief speaker. Otis Tuttle was elected president, Henry Schloeman vice president, and Jessie Buchanan Tow secretary-treasurer.

A marker for the site of the first log cabin erected by Elijah Buell in Clinton County in 1835 was dedicated on July 4, 1930.



IOWA JOURNAL OF HISTORY AND POLITICS 638

Mrs. Estelle Le Prevost gave the address. The marker was presented by the Clinton chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution and accepted by Mayor Greene of Clinton.

A granite boulder marking the site of the home of Joseph and William Davidson, the first white settlers in Marshall County, was dedicated on August 14, 1930, as one feature of the Le Grand homecoming celebration. A large boulder was also placed on the public square in honor of the early settlers in that locality.

The Clinton County Territorial and State Pioneer Association had its annual reunion at Eagle Point Park on August 28, 1930. Reminiscences were a feature of the program. Charles L. Lambertson was chosen president, J. E. Moran, William Smith, and L. L. Ries, vice presidents, and L. F. Sutton, secretary-treasurer.

On August 16, 1930, a large boulder, placed in the school yard at Montrose, was dedicated to the memory of the orchard planted by Louis Honoré Tesson about 1796. The site of the orchard itself is now covered by the water of the Mississippi River backed up by the Keokuk dam. The marker was presented to the State by John P. Kennedy and accepted by Edgar R. Harlan.

The seventy-fourth annual meeting of the Pioneer Settlers Association of Scott County was held at Davenport on August 27, 1930. Congressman F. D. Letts gave the chief address and Mrs. Ruth I. Preston spoke on "Iowa and Some Glimpses of Its Pioneer Work". The new officers chosen are as follows: P. A. Donaldson, president; Miles Collins, vice president; Mrs. Emma Clark Harrison, treasurer; and Mrs. Julia Karwath, secretary.

Winnebago County celebrated its diamond jubilee on August 17, 18, and 19, 1930. On Sunday afternoon Archer B. Hulbert of Colorado Springs gave an address at Forest City, honoring American pioneers. On Monday morning the ceremony of renaming Lime Creek was held. The old name Winnebago was restored. Chief Eagleneck of the Winnebago Indians gave the name to the stream, and L. H. Pammel and W. F. Muse gave addresses. The store windows were used to display antiques and relics. On Tuesday Winnebago Indians held a pow wow at the fair grounds. A



HISTORICAL ACTIVITIES 639

parade depicting events in the vicinity was another feature of the celebration.

The General Assembly of Iowa in 1927 adopted a concurrent resolution concerning the observance of the centennial anniversary of the Black Hawk Purchase made in September, 1832. Under this treaty about 7500 square miles of Indian land became the property of the United States at a cost of about fourteen cents an acre. This land was later included in the Territory and the State of Iowa. Provision is made in the resolution for a commission to arrange for the observance of the centennial. This consists of the Curator of the Historical Department; the Superintendent of the State Historical Society of Iowa; the county superintendents of the counties of Dubuque, Des Moines, Cedar, Clinton, Delaware, Henry, Jackson, Jones, Muscatine, Scott, Van Buren, Allamakee, Buchanan, Clayton, Davis, Fayette, Jefferson, Johnson, Lee, Linn, Louisa, and Washington; the city superintendents in the cities within the Black Hawk Purchase with a population of three thousand or over, and any other interested citizens the Governor of the State may appoint. Early in September, 1930, forty-six persons had been named by Governor John Hammill as members of the Black Hawk Commission. They serve without pay and no provision is made for expenses.

THE STATE HISTORICAL SOCIETY OF IOWA

Dr. William J. Petersen has joined the staff of the State Historical Society of Iowa as Research Associate. Miss Ethyl E. Martin has been appointed Assistant Superintendent and Dr. Ruth A. Gallaher Associate Editor.

The State Historical Society of Iowa has ready for the press a unique volume of Iowa history, *From Ioway to Iowa*, by Irving B. Richman. This volume presents in literary form the story of the discovery, settlement, and development of Iowa, with the great westward movement always in mind.

The following persons have recently been elected to membership in the Society : Mr. W. H. Aschom, Lansing, Iowa; Dr. T. I. Beckwith, Corning, Iowa; Miss Fern Elefson, Iowa City, Iowa; Mr.



640 IOWA JOURNAL OF HISTORY AND POLITICS

Arthur Fry, Van Horn, Iowa; Mr. J. H. Herman, Boone, Iowa; Mr. H. Marvin Hromek, Cedar Rapids, Iowa; Mr. W. Mighell, Holstein, Iowa; Mr. R. G. Miller, Lansing, Iowa; Mr. John LeRoy Peterson, Council Bluffs, Iowa; Mr. Edw. A. Ruppelt, Grundy Center, Iowa; Mrs. F. W. Sells, Osceola, Iowa; Mrs. W. G. Tallman, Des Moines, Iowa; Mr. Harvey Walker, Columbus, Ohio; Miss Bessie Castle, Marion, Iowa; Mr. Harry L. Eells, Cedar Falls, Iowa; Mr. Homer W. Gardner, Des Moines, Iowa; Mrs. T. D. Kas, Sutherland, Iowa; Mrs. R. J. Lewis, Fort Madison, Iowa; Rev. James N. Lund, Neola, Iowa; Miss Ethel McCreedy, Washington, Iowa; Mr. Amos M. Mathews, Sioux City, Iowa; Mrs. A. L. Middleton, Eagle Grove, Iowa; Dr. Emma Jewel Neal, Cedar Rapids, Iowa; Miss Esther Rasmussen, Ruthven, Iowa; Mrs. Mildred J. Robertson, Keokuk, Iowa; Dr. E. E. Speaker, Lake View, Iowa; Mrs. R. F. Ashbaugh, Sigourney, Iowa; Miss Carmen Ethel Bailey, Des Moines, Iowa; Miss Jennie Beals, Earlham, Iowa; Mr. John J. C. Bower, Jefferson, Iowa; Mr. Leon E. Frey, Oak Park, Illinios; Mr. Melvin Gingerich, Washington, Iowa; and Dr. Jesse Johnson, Mount Ayr, Iowa. The following have been enrolled as life members of the Society: Mr. Hugh H. Shepard, Mason City, Iowa; Mrs. G. E. Anderson, Red Oak, Iowa; Mr. John E. Briggs, Iowa City, Iowa; Mr. Royal H. Holbrook, Cedar Rapids, Iowa; Mr. Edw. F. Misak, Cedar Rapids, Iowa; Mr. George E. Roberts, New York City; Mrs. Rose F. Rosenfield, Des Moines, Iowa; and Mr. Leigh H. Wallace, Iowa City, Iowa.

