HISTORICAL ACTIVITIES

The annual meeting of members and directors of the Oklahoma Historical Society was held at the State Capitol in Oklahoma City on January 23, 1929. C. Ross Hume gave an address on "The Caddo Indians".

The archaeological Institute of America held its annual meeting in New York City from December 28 to 31, 1928. Ralph Van Deman Magoffin of New York University was elected president. The program included papers dealing with many aspects of archaeology.

At a meeting of the Board of Directors of the State Historical Society of Colorado in January, the following officers were elected: Henry A. Dubbs, president; Ernest Morris, first vice president; A. J. Fynn, second vice president; Ralph Hartzell, secretary; and E. W. Robinson, treasurer.

The Missouri Historical Society held a public meeting at the Jefferson Memorial on February 15, 1929, at which Dr. James A. James gave an address on "George Rogers Clark, Citizen". Luther Ely Smith, who has been appointed by President Coolidge a member of the George Rogers Clark Sesqui-centennial National Commission, presided at the meeting.

The Minnesota Historical Society held its eightieth annual meeting at Minneapolis and St. Paul on January 21, 1929. Herbert Heaton, Professor of History in the University of Minnesota, delivered the annual address on "The Development of New Countries—Some Comparisons." The Society plans to hold its eighth annual convention at Hutchinson on June 14 and 15, 1929.

The twenty-second annual meeting of the Mississippi Valley Historical Association will be held at Vincennes, Indiana, on April 25 to 27, 1929. Professor Fred A. Shannon, chairman of the program committee, has arranged one session on "Internal Improve-

ments and Transportation to 1860", one on "The Old South", one on "The Old Northwest", and another on "George Rogers Clark and the Revolution in the West." In addition one evening will be given over to the presidential address of President Charles W. Ramsdell, and one session will be devoted to the Teachers' Section.

On February 25, 1929, a notable celebration in commemoration of the one hundred and fiftieth anniversary of the capture of Fort Sackville by George Rogers Clark was held at Vincennes. One feature of the program was a pageant directed by Thomas Wood Stevens in which three episodes in the life of Clark were reproduced — Clark receiving his commission in Richmond, Virginia, at the hands of Patrick Henry; the capture of Kaskaskia; and the attack upon Fort Sackville. Commemorative addresses were made by Governor Harry G. Leslie of Indiana and by Dean James A. James of Northwestern University, author of the recent Life of George Rogers Clark.

IOWA

The Marshall County Historical Society enjoyed an evening of historical readings and dances in costume on January 15, 1929. At the annual meeting on March 12th, the following officers were reëlected: F. G. Pierce, president; Albert Beane, vice president; Miss Susan Sower, secretary; Mrs. Minnie J. Pendleton, treasurer; and Mrs. Annie Sellers, curator. Following the election of officers an old time program of music and declamations was presented by members of the society.

At the December meeting of the Howard County Historical Society, Mrs. Alma Glass presented an interesting paper on the "Organization of Iowa". The following officers were elected at the annual meeting held on March 12th: Mrs. Alma Glass, president; W. H. Tillson, vice president; C. J. Harlan, secretary; J. H. Howe, treasurer; Mrs. C. E. Farnsworth, curator; T. J. Gibbons, custodian; directors, William Kellow, John Murtha, J. N. Smith, and Mrs. J. I. Rowlee. At this meeting Mr. Tillson gave a talk on the history of money.

The Iowa Catholic Historical Society, recently founded, launched

a State-wide membership campaign the first week in February. The Society was incorporated in March, 1928, at Dubuque. The Society plans to collect books, pamphlets, letters, manuscripts, relics, and pictures relating to the Catholic history of Iowa. The Society also plans to record the lives of the early missionaries in Iowa, to encourage research in the field of Catholic history, and to publish the results of such research in a journal to be established. Archbishop James J. Keane of Dubuque is the honorary president of the Society.

The Madison County Historical Society celebrated its silver anniversary on March 5, 1929, with programs both in the afternoon and evening. H. A. Mueller, president of the society, presided. E. R. Harlan, Curator of the Historical, Memorial and Art Department of Iowa and T. H. Stone of Eldora, a charter member of the Society gave the principal addresses. Mr. Harlan spoke at the afternoon session on "Land Surveys"; and Mr. Stone at the evening session reviewed the progress made since the society was organized in 1904. The following officers were elected: H. A. Mueller, president; W. S. Cooper, vice president; E. R. Zeller, secretary; and Agnes McNamara, treasurer. The directors elected were: S. A. Hays, R. S. Cooper, H. G. Tidrick, and W. F. Craig.

The ninth annual conference for teachers of history and other social studies was held at the State University of Iowa on February 1 and 2, 1929, under the auspices of the Department of History and the Extension Division. Dr. Edward P. Cheney of the University of Pennsylvania, Professor Carl L. Becker of Cornell University, Professor John L. Conger of Knox College, Laura F. Ullrich of Winnetka, Burr W. Phillips of the University of Wisconsin, Elmer Ellis of the North Dakota State Teachers College, and Professor A. C. Krey of the University of Minnesota were speakers from outside the State. Professors Winfred T. Root, George G. Andrews, Forest C. Ensign, and Ernest Horn of the University of Iowa were local speakers at the conference.