NOTES AND COMMENT

The thirty-seventh annual meeting of the Iowa Library Association will be held at Des Moines on October 18-20, 1927.

The ninth annual session of the American School of Wild Life Protection will be held at McGregor, Iowa, on August 7–18, 1927. A faculty of competent instructors has been secured. Miss F. L. Clark of McGregor is the Secretary of the Wild Life School.

The Fifth Commonwealth Conference was held at Iowa City on June 27–29, 1927. The subject of the conference this year was "Municipal Government and Administration". Dr. Benjamin F. Shambaugh, the Superintendent of the State Historical Society of Iowa, was the director of the conference.

The twentieth session of the Pioneer Lawmakers Association was held at Des Moines on February 23, 1927. An address of welcome by Governor John Hammill, the president's address by A. B. Funk, and speeches on the presentation of the portraits of Warren Garst, A. B. Cummins, and Jonathan P. Dolliver delivered respectively by Ora Williams, H. W. Byers, and Harvey Ingham, were features of the program. Addresses were also delivered by Burton E. Sweet and Shirley Gilliland.

The Iowa Federation of Women's Clubs held its seventeenth biennial convention at Davenport on May 17–20, 1927. Mrs. John Fox Lake gave the president's address on "The Age of Women's Opportunities". Among the speakers on the general convention program were Mr. E. A. Sherman, who spoke on "Forestry as a Human Factor"; Professor Harold D. Fish, who talked on "Debts and Obligations of Heredity"; Miss Grace Abbott, who spoke on "Protection and Care of Children"; Professor E. C. Mabie, who gave an address on "Masks in the Cornfields"; and Graham McNamee whose subject was "You're on the Air". Speakers at the various departmental luncheons included Professor Frank

Luther Mott, whose subject was "The Harlem Poets or Some Recent Negro Poetry"; Mr. A. A. Grimwood, Representative from Jones County, who spoke on "A Review of Recent Legislation"; Dr. Ruth A. Gallaher, librarian of the State Historical Society, who talked on "Citizenship and City Government"; Mr. Irving B. Richman, whose subject was "Iowa Under Mencken and Brookhart"; and Miss Grace Shellenberger of the Davenport Public Library, who spoke on "The Mississippi River in Literature". The following officers were chosen for the ensuing biennium: Mrs. William Milchrist, Sioux City, President; Mrs. Galen Tilden, Ames, first vice president; Mrs. Eugene Henely, Grinnell, second vice president; Mrs. H. C. Houghton, Red Oak, recording secretary; Mrs. R. H. Volland, Iowa City, corresponding secretary; Mrs. William Larrabee, Jr., Clermont, treasurer; Mrs. E. H. Hall, Davenport, auditor; and Mrs. John Fox Lake, general federation director.

JAMES HENRY TREWIN

James Henry Trewin, who died at Cedar Rapids on March 21, 1927, had been connected with Iowa history for many years. He was born at Bloomingdale, Illinois, on November 29, 1858, and was educated at Bradford Academy, Cedar Valley Seminary, and Lenox College. After teaching school for a number of years, Mr. Trewin was admitted to the bar in 1883 and practiced at Earlville, Lansing, and later at Cedar Rapids. He served in the Iowa House of Representatives from 1894 to 1896 and in the Senate from 1896 to 1904. His public work also included service on the Iowa Commission of the St. Louis Exposition, the State Board of Education, and the Code Commission.

CONTRIBUTORS

- RUTH AUGUSTA GALLAHER, Library Research Associate in the Library of the State Historical Society of Iowa. (See The Iowa Journal of History and Politics for January, 1916, p. 156.)
- Walter Ellsworth Nydegger, Head of the Department of History and Social Science at Wheaton College. Born at Mt. Pleasant, Michigan, August 22, 1900. Attended public schools, graduating from the Stayton, Oregon, High School in 1918. Following two years of teaching in the elementary and high schools of Oregon, he entered Willamette University in 1921 and received the B. A. degree in 1924. Received the M. A. degree from the State University of Iowa in 1925. Was Head of the Department of History and Social Science at Wheaton College, Wheaton, Illinois, 1925–1927.
- Henry Arnold Bennett, Instructor in the Department of History and Government of the State Teachers College of Buffalo, N. Y. (See The Iowa Journal of History and Politics for July, 1926, p. 508.)

THE STATE HISTORICAL SOCIETY OF IOWA

ESTABLISHED BY LAW IN THE YEAR 1857 INCORPORATED: 1867 AND 1892 LOCATED AT IOWA CITY IOWA

FORMER PRESIDENTS

RALPH P. LOWE S. J. KIRKWOOD W. PENN CLARKE

JAMES W. GRIMES First President ROBERT HUTCHINSON M. J. MORSMAN PETER A. DEY F. H. LEE WILLIAM G. HAMMOND EUCLID SANDERS GEORGE G. WRIGHT

JOSIAH L. PICKARD

OFFICERS

BENJAMIN F. SHAMBAUGH SUPERINTENDENT

MARVIN H. DEY PRESIDENT R. L. PARSONS TREASURER

BOARD OF CURATORS

Elected by the Society ARTHUR J. COX CHARLES M. DUTCHER HENRY G. WALKER W. O. COAST S. A. SWISHER W. L. BYWATER THOMAS FARRELL

Appointed by the Governor WINIFRED CARTER DOBOTHY D. HOUGHTON MARVIN H. DEY MORTON C. MUMMA LILLIAN CLARK CARY MABEL W. HUSTON C. F. CLARK WILLIAM G. KERR ATLANTA COOK MERTA MITCHELL EDNA PASCHAL

MEMBERSHIP

Any person may become a member of THE STATE HISTORICAL SOCIETY OF Iowa upon election by the Board of Curators and the payment of an entrance fee of \$3.00.

Membership in this Society may be retained after the first year upon the payment of \$3.00 annually.

Members of the Society shall be entitled to receive the quarterly and all other publications of the Society during the continuance of their membership.

> Address all Communications to THE STATE HISTORICAL SOCIETY TOWA CITY TOWA