ashing-

Alexandria
Washington
ted crossing

d review on companies tone to the

the United

when hig there ruly 15,

man, 572-7.

## HISTORICAL ACTIVITIES

State Historical Society of Jowa

During October, November, and December, 1956, the Society added 195 new members. Total membership at the end of the year was 5,294.

In October the Society published Leland L. Sage's William Boyd Allison: A Study in Practical Politics. Dr. Sage's biography is the first full-length treatment of Iowa's famous Senator. Allison, who served Iowa in the House of Representatives from 1863 to 1871, and in the Senate from 1873 until his death in 1908 (one of the longest terms on record), was an outstanding figure in local and national politics. All members of the Society have received a copy of the book. Others may purchase it from the Society for \$6.50.

During the past four months Superintendent William J. Petersen has spent every spare moment soliciting funds for the State Historical Society of Iowa Centennial Building, concentrating on Des Moines, Cedar Rapids, Dubuque, Muscatine, and Keokuk.

Dr. Mildred Throne, associate editor of the Society, has been elected to the executive committee of the Agricultural History Society. She has also served during the past two years on the nominating committee of the Mississippi Valley Historical Association.

## SUPERINTENDENT'S CALENDAR

- October 6-7

  Attended annual meeting of the American Association for State and Local History at Sturbridge Village, Massachusetts, where he served as regional chairman for the Committee on National Awards.
- November 4-5 Attended Operation T-Bone with Audubon County farmers and businessmen at Chicago Stockyards, and visited with Pat Dolan.
- December 2 Attended the unveiling of the portrait of George Davenport at the Davenport Municipal Art Gallery.

## Jowa Historical Activities

Formal organization of the Iowa Society for the Preservation of Historical Landmarks took place in Des Moines on October 8, 1956. The Rt. Rev. Msgr. M. M. Hoffman of Dyersville was elected president; Dr. Leonard Wolf, head of the division of architecture of Iowa State College, vice-president; and William J. Wagner, Des Moines architect, secretary-treasurer. Members of the board of directors are Charles B. Chappell, Keokuk; Mrs. Carroll R. Mitchell, Grundy Center; Mrs. Leo A. Hoegh, Chariton; Simpson Smith, Des Moines; Mrs. Otha Wearin, Hastings; E. C. Wissler, Boone; and Nora Marie Harker, Storm Lake. Membership in the society is \$2.50 for adults, \$1.00 for students.

The Lee County Historical Society was organized at Keokuk on November 28, 1956. Al Weber was elected president; Charles Chappell, vice-president; and Miss Doris Foley, secretary-treasurer.

Art

Autor

Aviat

Biblio

Biogr

Civil

The Thomas Mitchell Historical Society, at its meeting on October 16, 1956, elected Asa Lee as president; Mrs. Max Woods, vice-president; and Mrs. Clarence Pearson, secretary-treasurer.

Officers elected at the December 4, 1956, meeting of the Chickasaw County Historical Society were Mrs. Earl Edson, president; Miss Mildred Bigelow, vice-president; Mrs. Glen Young, treasurer; and Rev. Glenn L. Utterback, secretary.

Ira Nichols of Iowa Falls has just published a History of Jowa Falls, 1900-1950, a companion volume to his Pioneer Days in Jowa Falls, which he published in 1944. Copies of the new book may be obtained from the Hecht Printing Company of Iowa Falls for \$3.75.

Hudson, in Black Hawk County, will celebrate its centennial June 26-27, 1957. Miss Frances Watters is chairman of the centennial historical committee.