HISTORICAL ACTIVITIES State Historical Society of Jowa

The Society added 40 new members during July, 51 during August. The following have become life members since June: Mrs. Matie Baily, Pocahontas; Louise Cotnam, Las Vegas, New Mexico; O. W. Crowley, Des Moines; Mrs. Daisy Duckworth, Centerville; Alvin J. Ehrhardt, Elkader; Van B. Hayden, Keokuk; Albion R. King, Mount Vernon; Mrs. Jennie A. McMartin, Beaman; Dr. Robert E. Moyers, Ann Arbor, Michigan; William B. Poinsett, Dubuque; Leland L. Sage, Cedar Falls; Marion L. Shugart, Council Bluffs; Robert G. Smith, Des Moines; Waldo W. Braden, Baton Rouge, Louisiana; Hugh S. Buffum, Cedar Falls; Edward J. Dahms, Cedar Rapids; Albert F. Dodge, Ames; Elizabeth A. Hunter, Iowa City; Ben C. Mueller, Davenport; Carl W. Petersen, Dubuque; Mrs. Alice B. Ritchie, Independence; Mrs. Bernard L. Swords, Burlington; John Tumelty, Keokuk; Mrs. Edith Barker, Ames; and David L. Redfield, San Francisco, California.

Members of the Society joined with members of the Chickasaw County Historical Society, Sunday, October 9, to observe the centennial of the Little Brown Church at Nashua.

The editors of the "Papers of Alexander Hamilton," to be published by the Columbia University Press, have asked the members of the Society to help them in locating letters to or from Alexander Hamilton. If any member knows of the whereabouts of such letters, they should communicate with Harold C. Syrett, Columbia University, New York 27, New York.

SUPERINTENDENT'S CALENDAR

| August 8 | Addressed Business Men's Club, Buffalo Center. |
|-----------------|--|
| August 9 | Addressed Luther College convocation, Decorah. |
| August 17 | Attended State Plowing Match, Cherokee. |
| August 31 | Attended State Day, Iowa State Fair, Des Moines. |
| September 25-27 | Attended meeting of American Association for State |
| October 3 | and Local History, Williamsburg, Virginia. |
| | Addressed Washington Rotary and Teachers, Washing- |

October 9

- ton, Iowa.
- Address at centennial observances, Little Brown Church, Nashua.

367

Jowa Historical Activities The Pocahontas County Historical Society has been reorganized, and

IOWA JOURNAL OF HISTORY

Miss Ann Goodchild of Havelock has been elected president. The meeting took place at the Old Settlers Picnic at Pocahontas, where representatives from each town in the county were registered by Mrs. Matie Baily. John T. Collins of Fonda, a grandson of the county's first white settler, spoke on conditions 100 years ago. F. C. Gilchrist and Charles Hawley, both of Laurens, also spoke. Miss Goodchild will select committees and officers for the society.

Roy Shaffer of Tama was re-elected president of the Tama County Historical Society at the April 2 meeting in Toledo. Other officers elected were Harold Hufford, vice-president; E. A. Benson, secretary-treasurer; and H. P. Giger, member of the board of trustees to succeed Wm. H. Malin.

The McGregor County Historical Society met May 23, the 151st anniversary of the birth of Alexander McGregor. Officers re-elected at the meeting were: Mrs. Lena Myers, president; Wilfred Logan, vice-president; Dorothy Huebsch, secretary and treasurer.

Msgr. M. M. Hoffman was re-elected president of the Dubuque County Historical Society at its May meeting. The Society is working on plans for a permanent home for the historical material it has collected. Plans were also discussed for a bronze marker honoring John Francis Rague, famous architect.

The Marshall County Historical Society has purchased the old Wetherbee school of Taylor Township and plans to move the building to the Central Iowa Fair Grounds, where it will be relocated and stocked with the stove, desks, chairs, and books used in earlier days.

Jack Belknap, treasurer of the newly organized Marion County Historical Society, has been appointed curator of the museum of Marion County antiquities. The Society has collected many valuable historical items for display.

At the annual meeting of the Mahaska County Historical Society in May at Oskaloosa the following officers were elected: John H. Eveland, presi-

368

dent; Jesse Mattix, vice-president; Miss Zola Kramme, secretary; Ed Butler, treasurer; and Mrs. Stillman Clark, historian. The Society has opened a museum in the former G. A. R. rooms in the courthouse at Oskaloosa.

The Wayne County Historical Society elected the following officers at their annual meeting on July 5: Amy Robertson, president; Mildred Fry,

HISTORICAL ACTIVITIES

vice-president; Harry Hibbs, treasurer; Warren Burton, secretary; Roy Grimes, curator; and Grant Kelley, Suzie Booth, Marjean Poston, Ortha Green, and Glen Greenlee, directors. The Society is sponsoring the collecting of histories of the towns and churches of Wayne County.

The Chickasaw County Historical Society has purchased the Van Gorder estate adjacent to the Little Brown Church at Nashua for an historical museum. The house and barn on the estate, opened to the public on June 5, have been stocked with historical articles.

Howard E. Todd was elected president of the Ringgold County Historical Society at the August meeting of that group. Other officers elected were Arthur Palmer, vice-president; Thelma Caryle, secretary; and Mrs. J. A. Bliss, treasurer.

At the June meeting of the Adair County Historical Society the following officers were elected: Mrs. Myra Brown, president; Elmer Johnson, secretary and treasurer.

