Notes on Contributors

PAUL BAENDER is professor emeritus of English at The University of Iowa and editor of *A Hero Perished, The Diary & Selected Letters of Nile Kinnick* (Iowa City: The University of Iowa Press, 1991).

PATRICIA ECKHARDT lives in Iowa City and is the author of a doctoral dissertation entitled "Proudfoot and Bird, Campus Architects: Building Facilities for Professional Education at The University of Iowa, 1898-1910," completed at The University of Iowa in 1990.

ROBERT A. SHADDY is director of the Ward M. Canaday Center for Research and Use of Rare Books and Special Collections at the William S. Carlson Library of the University of Toledo, Toledo, Ohio.

Council of the Friends of the University of Iowa Libraries

Council

George Daly

Dianne Dillon-Ridgley

Peg McIlroy Fraser

William Hamilton

Sarah Lande

Mary Lyman

Della McGrath

Hal Reed

Jim Harris Virginia R. Stafford, Chair

Carl Klaus Thomas Yoseloff

Honorary

Dale M. Bentz Alfred S. Martin Homer L. Calkin John Martin Leslie W. Dunlap

> Ex Officio Sheila D. Creth

Annual memberships in the Friends are solicited as follows: Sponsor, \$1000; Fellow, \$500; Sustaining, \$100; Contributing, \$50; Friend, \$25; and Student, \$10. Corporate categories are Corporate Sponsor, \$1000; and Corporate Fellow, \$500. Honor categories include University Librarians Club, \$20,000 or more; Benefactor, \$10,000 or more; and Patron, \$5000. Correspondence concerning membership in the Friends should be sent to Barbara I. Dewey, University Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-1420.