NOTES ON CONTRIBUTORS

JEANNETTE EYERLY, 1930 graduate of The University of Iowa, is the author of 19 novels for young people. The latest, *Someone to Love Me*, was published in the spring of 1987. She is also coauthor, with Hadley Irwin, of *Writing the Young Adult Novel*, to be published this year. Her husband, Frank Eyerly, also an alumnus of The University of Iowa, was the longtime managing editor of the *Des Moines Register and Tribune*.

DON L. HOFSOMMER holds the Ph.D. degree in history from Oklahoma State University and has written extensively in the field of railroad history. His *Prairie Oasis: The Railroads, Steamboats, and Resorts of Iowa's Spirit Lake Country* won commendation from the American Association of State and Local History. Hofsommer is executive director of the Center for Western Studies at Augustana College in Sioux Falls, South Dakota.

JOHN BRUCE HOWELL, international studies bibliographer of The University of Iowa Libraries, has an A.B. in ethnomusicology from Columbia University, an A.M.L.S. from the University of Michigan and a Ph.D. in library and information science from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, with his thesis "The Concept of 'Development Literature' and the Establishment of Criteria for the Creation of a Development Data Base." Previously he worked as area specialist (Africa) responsible for bibliography in the Library of Congress's African and Middle Eastern Division for ten years. He has compiled a number of guides and bibliographies on the official government publications of Kenya and eastern Africa. He was appointed field director of the library's Nairobi office in 1976-77.

PATRICK A. G. O'HARE is senior chemist and leader of the calorimetry group at Argonne National Laboratory. Holding the Ph.D. degree in chemistry from the Queen's University of Belfast, he has over 140 publications based on his thermochemical, thermophysical, and molecular orbital work. He was visiting professor of chemistry at the University of Toronto in 1971-72; senior professional officer at the International Atomic Energy Agency in Vienna, 1976-78; and received the 1986 Huffman Award in recognition of his contributions to thermochemistry and calorimetry.

Friends of The University of Iowa Libraries IOWA CITY, IOWA

Council

George Daly Jo Ann Koontz

Lawrence E. Gelfand Trudy H. Peterson

Mary Lynn Grant Dudley B. Priester

David Hamilton, chair Harold L. Reed

Eunice Hanlin Charlotte M. Smith

James Harris John P. Vander Maas

Alan F. January

Honorary

Dale M. Bentz Alfred S. Martin

Homer L. Calkin John Martin

Leslie W. Dunlap

Ex Officio

Sheila D. Creth

Annual memberships in the Friends are solicited as follows: Sustaining memberships \$100, Contributing memberships \$50, Regular memberships \$25, Student memberships \$10, and Corporate memberships \$500. Patron status can be achieved by contributing \$1000 within two years.

The illustration on the back cover is from a New York Central System children's menu.

