Notes on Contributor

JOHN M. HARRISON is the author of *The Man Who Made Nasby, David Ross Locke; The Blade of Toledo: The First 150 Years;* and *The Nickel Machine, A Biographical Memoir.* He was a Nieman Fellow at Harvard University (1951-52), publisher of student publications and a member of the journalism faculty at the University of Iowa (1958-1961), and a professor of journalism and American Studies at the Pennsylvania State University (1961-1978). He lives in Iowa City.

Advisory Board of the Friends of the University of Iowa Libraries

Connie Brothers Lacy Daniels Diane Dillon-Ridgley

Annette Fitz Joanne Fritz

John Gerber Bruce E. Gronbeck Betsy Hawtrey

Margery Hoppin Roger A. Hughes

W. Bruce Johnson, Chair

Jae-On Kim Sarah Lande Henrietta Logan Mary Lyman

Mary Anne Madden Casev Mahon

Russell Schmeiser Iulie K. Scott

W. Richard Summerwill

Rhoda Vernon

Honorary

Dale M. Bentz Homer L. Calkin Leslie W. Dunlap Alfred S. Martin John Martin

Ex Officio Sheila D. Creth

Annual memberships in the Friends are solicited as follows: Sponsor, \$1000; Fellow, \$500; Sustaining, \$100; Contributing, \$50; Friend, \$25; and Student, \$10. Corporate categories are Corporate Sponsor, \$1000; and Corporate Fellow, \$500. Honor categories include University Librarians Club, \$20,000 or more; Benefactor, \$10,000 or more; and Patron, \$5000. Correspondence concerning membership in the Friends should be sent to Barbara I. Dewey, University Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa 52242-1420.