NOTES ON CONTRIBUTORS

ED FERRETER grew up in Marion, Iowa. After retiring from 30 years' service as a rural mail carrier at Central City, he enrolled as a student at Kirkwood College and then received a degree in political science from Mount Mercy College in Cedar Rapids. Currently he is completing work at The University of Iowa for a master of arts degree in writing.

JAMES O. KEMM, a free-lance writer in Tulsa, Oklahoma, is a Missouri native who spent 32 years in public relations as a petroleum trade association executive. He earlier taught journalism at Rider College in New Jersey and worked for newspapers in Springfield, Missouri. The author of *Let's Talk Petroleum*, he is now writing a book about the Oklahoma petroleum industry and doing research for a biography of Rupert Hughes. He is a director of the Oklahoma Historical Society.

LOUIS I. SZATHMARY, restaurateur, author, and book collector, came to the United States from his native Hungary in 1951. He holds a doctoral degree from the University of Budapest and has published many books on the culinary arts, including the *Chef's Secret Cook Book* (1971), *American Gastronomy: An Illustrated Portfolio of Recipes and Culinary History* (1974), *The Bakery Restaurant Cookbook* (1981), and the 16-volume compilation *Cookery Americana*. He is a member of the Caxton Club, the Cliff Dwellers (Chicago) and the Grolier Club (New York).

EMERSON G. WULLING, operator of the Sumac Press, studied with George P. Winship and has published articles on fine printing in *The Book Collector's Packet* and elsewhere. He is emeritus professor of English at the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse.

Friends of The University of Iowa Libraries IOWA CITY, IOWA

Council

Arthur L. Benton	Michael G. Maddigan
Dale M. Bentz, ex officio	John Martin, M.D., honorary
Barbara Kent Buckley	Albert R. Mitchell
Homer L. Calkin, honorary	Robert A. Olson
Linda Corry	Dudley B. Priester
John R. Doyle	Robert E. Rakel, M.D.
Leslie W. Dunlap, <i>honorary</i>	Alan L. Rossmann
Lawrence E. Gelfand	Charlotte M. Smith
Albert T. Luper	John P. Vander Maas

Helen Phelan, Chair

The twenty-first annual spring dinner of the Friends will be held in the Amos Dean Room of the downtown Holiday Inn in Iowa City on Friday evening, April 19, 1985. The speaker will be author Curtis Harnack, a native of Le Mars, Iowa, who is executive director of Yaddo, an artists' retreat in New York, and author of *We Have All Gone Away* and other books.

Life Membership in the Friends is awarded to patrons whose gifts of rare books or financial contributions are at least \$1,000, and to sustaining members whose annual contributions of \$100 may become equivalent to this. Other annual memberships are solicited as follows: contributing memberships \$25, regular memberships \$10, student memberships \$5. Institutions are accepted as regular members.

The photograph on the back cover shows Iowa poet Jay Sigmund (1885-1937) flanked by Grant Wood (right) and Christopher Morley (left). From a snapshot taken at Waubeek, Iowa, in October 1935, by Virginia Sigmund.

