sented by him, was painted by Allan E. Philbrick, who served with General Tinley in the American forces overseas in World War I.

Members of the staff of the State Department of History and Archives, who are in the armed service, are widely scattered. Maynard F. Reece, museum assistant and staff artist, on leave for the duration, is serving with the signal corps division at Camp Kohler, Sacramento, California; Kenneth E. Colton, who was also given leave of absence for the duration from the manuscript division, is at Salina, Kansas, in Camp Phillips, a member of the signal corps; Milo Frazier, who was in the archives research department, is near Fort Smith, Arkansas, in Camp Chaffee, as a member of the reconnaissance division.

CURRENT IOWA ANNALS

The Tama County Historical Society met April 8, 1943, at Toledo. The president, Mrs. W. G. MacMartin reported 508 charter members the first year and approximately 800 historical articles given or loaned to the society, now on display in nine cases in the county court house, built and purchased by the society during the past year. The annual picnic of the society was held Sunday April 18, in Toledo. In addition to the president, officers were elected as follows: Vice President, R. C. Wood, Traer; Secretary and Treasurer, Miss Thelma Carmichael, Tama.

The Des Moines Pioneer Club held its Forty-ninth annual meeting on January 23, 1943. In continuation of the epochal series the address was on "Des Moines 1880-1890," delivered by former state senator Addison M. Parker. President B. Frank Kauffman presided. The new officers elected were: President, Vernon R. Seeberger; Vice President, John P. Wallace; Secretary-Treasurer, Forest Huttenlocher.

An old settlers program will be presented at the meeting of the Pocahontas County Historical Society to be held on July 6th. The officers elected at the annual meeting held on January 5th, 1943 were: President, Mrs. Matie L. Baily; Vice President, Mrs. Ora Malcom; Secretary-treasurer, A. L. Schultz.

The Iowa Society at Washington, D. C. at its annual meeting elected for 1943 the following officers: President, Ben F. Jensen, Exira, congressman Seventh district; Vice President, Mrs. E. P. Chase, Atlantic.

The Sac County Historical Society has discontinued all meetings for the duration of the war activities. Copyright of Annals of Iowa is the property of State of Iowa, by & through the State Historical Society of Iowa and its content may not be copied or emailed to multiple sites or posted to a listserv without the copyright holder's express written permission. However, users may print, download, or email articles for individual use.