1870.] ANNUAL MEETING OF THE HISTORICAL SOCIETY.

PROCEEDINGS OF THE ANNUAL MEETING OF THE STATE HISTORICAL SOCIETY.

IowA CITY, December 7, 1869.

The Iowa State Historical Society held its regular annual meeting at 7 o'clock this evening, at the council chamber, in Iowa City.

Rev. R. L. Ganter, in the absence of the President, and first and second Vice Presidents, opened the meeting and presided until the arrival of Prof. W. G. Hammond, second Vice President, who assumed the chair.

On motion of Charles Lewis, a committee of five was appointed by the chair to report nominations for officers of the Society, and also a Board of Curators. The committee consisted of the following gentlemen, to-wit: George W. Dodder, A. C. Younkin, Dr. Henry Murray, Thomas M. Banbury and John P. Irish.

The committee submitted the following report :----

For President, William G. Hammond; Vice Presidents, Rev. Richard L. Ganter, Hon. George G. Wright, Hon. Ezekiel Clark, Rev. William Emonds, Rev. Jas. Black, D. D.; Recording Secretary, William Cullen Gaston; Corresponding Secretary, Frederick Lloyd, M. D.; Treasurer, H. S. Welton; Librarian, Silas Foster; Curators, M. W. Davis, William Vogt, M. D., F. H. Lee, Jno. P. Irish, S. E. Paine, Robert Hutchinson, George W. Dodder, Archibald C. Younkin, N. H. Brainerd, Thomas M. Banbury, William Cruni, Henry Murray, M. D., Moses Bloom, Thomas Hughes, J. H. Boucher, M. D., Samuel C. Trowbridge, George G. Cornell, Charles Lewis.

On motion the report, except as to Corresponding Secretary, was unanimously adopted.

On motion, a ballot was had for Corresponding Secretary, which resulted in the election of Frederick Lloyd, M. D.

On recommendation of the Board of Curators, the Constitution of the Society was amended by fixing the time for the

95

annual meeting on the third Tuesday evening of October of each year.

Also on a like recommendation, the following amendment was adopted, viz:

To strike out after the word Librarian, in Sec. 4 of Art. 1 of the Constitution, the words "eighteen Curators," and add to said article the following :—"At the annual election in 1869, eighteen Curators shall be elected, who shall at their first meeting determine by lot, which of them shall hold for two years, and which for one year; and at the annual meeting thereafter, there shall be nine curators elected who shall serve for two years."

The report of the Corresponding Secretary was read, accepted and adopted.

On motion, H. W. Lathrop and W. A. Ballard were elected members of this Society.

On motion, the committee appointed at the annual meeting for 1868 to procure the delivery of an address at this meeting, was continued, with directions to secure such address for some convenient time during the commencement exercises of the State University, in June following.

On motion the Society adjourned.

WILLIAM CULLEN GASTON,

Recording Secretary.

Copyright of Annals of Iowa is the property of State of Iowa, by & through the State Historical Society of Iowa and its content may not be copied or emailed to multiple sites or posted to a listserv without the copyright holder's express written permission. However, users may print, download, or email articles for individual use.