COUNTY JUDGES OF FAYETTE

Thomas Woodle	.1851-1854
M. V. Burdick	1854 (May to August)
Gabriel Long	.1854-1855
C. A. Newcomb.	.1855-1857
Jacob W. Rogers	
H. N. Hawkins	.1861-1866 and 1868-1869
John Ecker	
Jason L. Paine	1869 (Jan. to Oct.)
Hiram Hoagland	

ACKNOWLEDGMENTS:

Sometime before his death, my friend, Walter H. Beall, editor of the West Union Argo-Gazette, had urged upon me the preparation of this review of the bench and bar of Fayette county, giving me valuable advice and counsel.

The assistance rendered by Mr. Beall, Mr. Kenneth E. Colton of the Iowa State Department of History and Archives, Mr. Burton H. Saxton of the Iowa Masonic Library, Hon. B. W. Newberry of Strawberry Point, Iowa, Hon. C. F. Murphy of Elkader, Iowa, and others made it possible to gather information, to whom I extend thanks.

Reference has been made to early Iowa Session Laws, to Proceedings of the Iowa State Bar association, to that most interesting volume "Recollections and Sketches," by E. B. Stiles of the Iowa bar, and to various county histories.

Errors, of course, appear but early records are not always accurate or in agreement, and for such errors I crave the indulgence of the reader.

COLORADO PRESERVES ITS HISTORY

The contracts have been let and construction started on the vaults in the sub-basement of the Colorado State Museum building. These are intended primarily as vaults for the Archives Division and will be equipped for scientific care of precious documents and records. Temperature and humidity control, cleaning and restoration facilities, and a fumigation chamber are to be provided.—
Colorado Magazine.

Copyright of Annals of Iowa is the property of State of Iowa, by & through the State Historical Society of Iowa and its content may not be copied or emailed to multiple sites or posted to a listsery without the copyright holder's express written permission. However, users may print, download, or email articles for individual use.