Marcus C. Woodruff was born March 21, 1831, at Aurora, Illinois; he died at the residence of his daughter, Mrs. P. S. Fawkes, at Dubuque, Iowa, March 20, 1909. He was educated at Aurora Academy, migrated to Boone county, Illinois, thence to Hardin county, Iowa, in 1855. He purchased the Eldora Sentinel in 1863. In May, 1870, he disposed of the Sentinel, and with Charles Aldrich purchased the Waterloo Courier, of which he disposed in 1874, immediately purchasing a half interest in the Dubuque Times, becoming and remaining its editor-in-chief for several years. He was Chief Clerk of the Iowa House of Representatives in the Twelfth General Assembly. He served as Railroad Commissioner by appointment of Governor Gear for four years. After leaving the service of the State, he was made General Claim Agent for the Chicago Great Western Railroad, continuing in that employment, with his residence at St. Paul, until his death.

JOHN A. Evans was born in Otsego county, N. Y., May 11, 1833; he died near West Liberty, Iowa, November 16, 1908. He was a son of Simeon and Polly Evans, who removed with their family to Huntsburg, Ohio, in 1834. At the age of 19 Mr. Evans removed to Rock Island county, Ill., where he taught school, soon returning to Ohio, where he remained until 1856, when he removed to West Liberty, Iowa. He was a member of the House of Representatives in the Twenty-second General Assembly from Muscatine county. He was a director of the Iowa Agricultural Society from 1887 to 1892, Vice-President from 1892 to 1894, and President from 1894 to 1896. At the time of his death he was Deputy U. S. Revenue Collector for the Southern District of Iowa.

L. L. Estes was born in Madison county, N. Y., August 7, 1832; he died April 19, 1909, at Webster City, Iowa. He migrated to Webster City, Iowa, in 1857. He joined the Spirit Lake Expedition for the protection of the settlers in 1857 and was a member of the Northern Border Brigade in 1861. After some years in the mercantile business, he established the banking firm of Young. Estes & Co., composed of the late Kendall Young and himself, which became the First National Bank of Webster City, and was interested in banking enterprises elsewhere. He was once mayor of Webster City, served on the school board and was postmaster during Lincoln's administration.

S. A. Fear was born at Point Marion, Pa., January 7, 1852; he died at Rock Rapids, Iowa, February 27, 1909. He came to Clayton county in 1855, and to Lyon county in 1879, establishing his residence at Rock Rapids in 1892. In that year he was elected auditor of Lyon county and also to the school board of Rock Rapids, on which he served continuously to the time of his death. He represented the Ninty-ninth District in the Iowa House of Representatives in the Thirty-second and the Thirty-second extra General Assemblies.

WILLIAM HARPER was born in Ross county, Ohio, November 13, 1819; he died January 2, 1909, at Mediapolis, Iowa. He removed from the State of his birth to Yellowspring township, Des Moines

county, in 1842, residing on a farm and teaching school. He spent three years in Burlington as a teacher and later as Deputy Clerk of the Courts. He was a member of the Iowa House of Representatives in the Third and the Thirteenth General Assemblies. In 1871 he took up his residence at Mediapolis, where he opened a real estate, loan and insurance office and became, in 1891, president of the State Bank of Mediapolis.

JOHN H. JENNINGS was born in Greene county, Pennsylvania, April 3, 1825; he died at his home in Boone, Iowa, November 5, 1908. He removed with his father's family in 1839 to Knox county, Ohio, and in 1852 to a farm of 320 acres, which he purchased in Boone county, Iowa, where his home remained during the greater part of his active life. He was a lifelong and active member of the Baptist church; was ever a willing and influential incumbent of the modest, but important offices in the school district, town or county of his residence and represented his county in the House of the Eighteenth General Assembly.

Daniel Francis was born in Dark county, Ohio, December 5, 1826; he died at his home in Des Moines, Iowa, May 29, 1908. He removed to Penn township, Madison county, Iowa, in May, 1855, and was among the first and most active settlers of that township. He served as justice of the peace two years, assessor fifteen years, county supervisor five years, and was Representative of Madison county in the Eighteenth General Assembly. He removed to Des Moines in 1880, where his home afterward remained.

Samuel B. Zeigler was born in Center county, Pennsylvania, December 6, 1831; he died at his home in West Union, Iowa, April 19, 1909. He migrated to Dubuque in 1854, and to West Union in 1856, in which year he was admitted to the bar. He established the West Union Bank in 1866, which was merged with the Fayette County Bank in 1872. At the time of his death he was President of the Board of Trustees of Upper Iowa University. He served as United States Consul at Aix-la-Chapelle under the McKinley administration.

GREEN T. CLARK was born in White county, Tennessee, March 25, 1823; he died at Pella, Iowa, Nov. 26, 1908. In 1834 he removed with his parents into the Black Hawk country, settling in what is now Lee county, Iowa. He removed to Marion county, settling in Lake Prairie township in 1843. He was at one time member of the board of supervisors of his county, and served as Representative in the Fifth extra, Sixth, Fifteenth and Sixteenth General Assemblies.

Copyright of Annals of Iowa is the property of State of Iowa, by & through the State Historical Society of Iowa and its content may not be copied or emailed to multiple sites or posted to a listsery without the copyright holder's express written permission. However, users may print, download, or email articles for individual use.