bank of the Mississippi, and ascending the said Ioway river to its left fork; thence up that fork to its source; thence crossing the fork of Red Cedar river in a direct line to the second or upper fork of the Desmoines river; and thence in a direct line to the lower fork of the Calumet river; and down that river to its juncture with the Missouri."

THE MISSISSIPPI VALLEY HISTORICAL ASSOCIA-TION.

The Mississippi Valley Historical Association was organized at Lincoln, Nebraska, in October, 1907. It resulted from a conference called by Mr. C. S. Paine, Secretary of the Nebraska Historical Society, and was participated in by representatives from activities in the States of Iowa, Missouri, Kansas. Minnesota and Montana. Mr. F. A. Sampson, Secretary of the Missouri State Historical Society, was elected president and Mr. C. S. Paine, secretary. The first regular meeting was held at Madison, Wisconsin, in December, 1907, at which Hon. Thomas M. Owen, Director of the Alabama Department of Archives and History, was made president and Mr. Paine, secretary. At that meeting a constitution was adopted. The object of the Association is stated to be the promotion of historical study and research, and of co-operation between historical activities of the Mississippi Valley. It provides that any one interested in these matters may become a member, and also provides for two meetings each year, one to be held in June and one in connection with the annual meeting of the American Historical Association in December. The annual dues are one dollar. The midsummer meeting of 1908 was held at Lake Minnetonka, Minnesota. At this meeting Dr. Clarence W. Alvord, Assistant Professor of History in the University of Illinois, was made president. The midwinter meeting of that year was held at Richmond, Virginia. The second annual meeting of the Association was held in the rooms of the Missouri Historical Society in St. Louis, June 17-19, 1909.

At this meeting an excellent program was presented and it was decided to publish the first volume of transactions at once, and distribute the same to all members. Dr. Benjamin F. Shambaugh will edit this volume, which will contain all of the papers that have been presented at the meetings of the Society to date. It was voted to name a board of publication, to be composed of one representative from each of the States of the Mississippi Valley; this board to be authorized to raise a publication fund for the purpose of issuing a series of Mississippi Valley Historical Collections, and to have entire direction of all matters pertaining to the publication of such collections. It was suggested that if \$100 could be raised by popular subscription or otherwise in each of the States represented, a fund would be created sufficient to publish the first volume, and that the proceeds from the sale of the first volume would publish another, and so on. At this meeting a committee of five was appointed whose business it will be to encourage local societies to provide, through legislative appropriations or otherwise, funds for the appropriate marking of historic sites.

The following officers were elected for the ensuing year: President, Orin G. Libby, Professor of History, University of North Dakota; Vice-President, Benjamin F. Shambaugh, Professor of Political Science, University of Iowa, Iowa City, Iowa; Secretary-Treasurer, Clarence S. Paine, Secretary Nebraska State Historical Society, Lincoln, Nebraska. Executive Committee (in addition to the above named officers who are members ex-officio), Dunbar Rowland, Director Department of Archives and History, Jackson, Mississippi; Charles E. Brown, Chief State Historical Museum, Madison, Wisconsin: Francis A. Sampson, Secretary and Librarian State Historical Society of Missouri, Columbia, Missouri; Thomas M. Owen, Director Department of Archives and History, Montgomery, Alabama; Clarence W. Alvord, Assistant Professor of History, University of Illinois.

Invitations were received from several cities which desired the honor of entertaining the next annual meeting. These invitations were referred to the executive committee with power to act. It is understood that either Iowa City or Des Moines will be selected.

The membership of the Association at present numbers three hundred, distributed over thirty-eight states, the District of Columbia and Canada. Illinois leads all the other states with fifty-six members, Missouri comes second with twenty-six, Iowa and Nebraska ' tie with twenty-five each, while Ohio has nineteen, Wisconsin fifteen, Michigan eleven, Wyoming ten, etc. These members represent seventy-one colleges, universities and normal schools, sixty-seven public and state libraries, and forty-four historical societies.

REMOVAL OF GOVERNOR BRIGGS' BODY TO IOWA.

One of the most commendable things accomplished by the Thirty-third General Assembly was the carrying out of the plan of Hon. J. W. Ellis, the Representative from Jackson county, of returning to Iowa soil the body of Ansel Briggs, the first governor of Iowa. Jackson county was the home of Governor Briggs when he was elected in 1846 and during his incumbency of the office for two terms. He resided at the old town of Andrew until 1870, except for a few years spent in Colorado. In 1870 he removed to Council Bluffs, where his home remained until his death, May 5, 1881. He died at the residence of his son, J. S. Briggs, in Omaha, Nebraska, and his body was interred at that place. For a number of years the return of Gov. Briggs' body to Iowa and to his former home was urged by prominent citizens, but the credit of accomplishing this good work is almost wholly due to Mr. Ellis, whose election to the House and whose labors there had this as the An appropriation of \$1,000 was made by central purpose. the State from which to defray the expense and provide a suitable monument to be erected over the grave. The monument, as designed, is to be of granite, in the form of a monolith twelve feet high, on a base bearing a bronze medallion portrait of Governor Briggs, appropriate inscriptions commemorating his life and services, and an outline map of the State of Iowa.

Copyright of Annals of Iowa is the property of State of Iowa, by & through the State Historical Society of Iowa and its content may not be copied or emailed to multiple sites or posted to a listserv without the copyright holder's express written permission. However, users may print, download, or email articles for individual use.