COUNTIES.

Favette, Benton, Keokuk, Buchanan, Henry, Lee, Cedar, Jackson. Louisa, Clinton. Jones. Linn, Clayton. Johnson. Muscatine. Des Moines, Scott, Jefferson, Dubuque, Van Buren, Delaware, Washington.

(p. 32) TOWNS.

Fort Madison.

Augusta, Farmington, Prairie La Porte, Astoria, Florence, Philadelphia, Geneva, Antwerp. Peru, Portoro, Akwipetuk, Grandview, Burlington, Pittsburg, Iowa city, Bloomington. Jacksonville, Point Comfort, Buffalo, Keokuk, Rochester. Bellvue. Keoshawqua, Rockingham, Bentonsport, Lexington, Sanbornton, Black Hawk, Lyons, Salem, Camanche, Mount Pleasant. Tuscarora, Charleston, Montpelier, Van Buren, Catteesh. Montrose, Wapalaw, Dubuque. Moscow. West Point. Davenport, Napoleon, Wyoming, Denmark, New London, Washington, Deventerville, Parkhurst, West Liberty.

Pleasant Valley,

MUSCATINE, VICE BLOOMINGTON

By a decree of the District Court, in accordance with a petition of the citizens, the name of this town has been changed to Muscatine. * * * The name we now bear is the aboriginal one for this locality. It means Fire Island and was applied to the large island just below the city. It is also the name of our large, rich and rapidly populating county. It has euphony and originality and is peculiar to ourselves, not being found anywhere else on the map of the world.—Bloomington-Iowa Democratic Enquirer, June 9, 1849. (In the newspaper collection of the Historical Department of Iowa.)

Copyright of Annals of Iowa is the property of State of Iowa, by & through the State Historical Society of Iowa and its content may not be copied or emailed to multiple sites or posted to a listsery without the copyright holder's express written permission. However, users may print, download, or email articles for individual use.