inspiration for the city wide Forums later inaugurated by the Des Moines School Board under a grant from the Carnegie Corporation to the American Association for Adult Education.

The present members of the Board of Directors are: Mesdames Saul Davidson, A. I. Bloteky, S. Weinstock, Harry Ginsberg, M. L. Kahn, Sam Abramson, Nathan Frankel; Rabbi Eugene Mannheimer, Rabbi Monroe Levens; Messrs. Robert Lappen, Ben Sherman, Harry Goldman, L. H. Cohen, M. O. Kohn, Sol Panor, A. H. Blank, Burton Joseph, Ben Hurwitz, Ellis Levitt, and Louis Adelman.

The Directors have been: Annette Mann 1907-1908; Mildred A. Coffman 1908-1909; Rosetta Stone 1909-1910; Caroline Morrell 1911-1912; Sadie Block 1912 (three months only on account of illness); Faye Biederman 1912-1925; Julia B. Mayer 1925—.

SOUTH SIDE COMMUNITY HOUSE

The South Side Community House was established in 1919. While the distance between South Side Community House and Roadside Settlement House is not great, they are separated by the Des Moines River, and serve communities quite unlike in background and tradition.

At the close of the War a group of Des Moines citizens made application to the National Catholic War Council for funds to establish a Community Center in Des Moines. A survey was made as to the need for a Center and as to its location. Funds were granted by the Council for the purchase of the Knights of Columbus hut at Fort Des Moines and for its removal and reconstruction at 1204 Indianola Road, which is in a district largely made up of people of Italian birth or parentage.

During the period of reconstruction of the building, class organization work was carried on in a small cottage adjoining the present building under the direction of Miss Anita Dapalonia. For the first six months the National Catholic War Council financed the project, and the National Council of Catholic Women for the next six months. In 1920 the Center became one of the agencies financed by the Des Moines Community Chest.

ANNALS OF IOWA

The members of the first Board of Directors were: Mrs. L. C. Kurtz, Chmn.; Mrs. M. J. Scanlon, First Vice Chmn.; Mrs. F. E. Haley, Second Vice Chmn.; Mrs. Geo. W. Tones, Secretary; Mesdames R. H. Delmege, Anna McBride, Nate Kendall; Misses Stella McGuire, Alice Eaton; Messrs. C. B. Condon, John A. Cavanagh, Frank P. Flynn, and J. H. Cownie.

The South Side Community House is used constantly by groups of children, young people, and older ones as well, and strives to serve each adequately in the activities it provides. A community evening program with moving pictures is offered once a week during the winter. A station of the Public Library housed in the building serves patrons of all ages, while the Well Baby Clinic, maintained by the Public Health Nursing Association, serves parent and child alike. The Community House also has public shower bath facilities.

The South Side Community House has a surfaced indoor playground which is popular during the winter. In the summer staff members of the city playground nearby help the settlement children to carry on summer activities. Gymnasium and basketball teams, having a large membership, use the auditorium for practice and games. Troops of Boy and Girl Scouts also meet in the building. There are classes in handcraft, dramatice art, choral work, story telling, sewing, folk dancing, etc.

The members of the present Board of Directors are: Mrs. Louis C. Kurtz, President; Mesdames F. E. Haley, Geo. Tones, Walter L. Seeburger, Joseph Muelhaupt, Anna McBride; Miss Stella McGuire; Messrs. C. B. Condon, John H. Cownie; and Judge Thos. J. Guthrie.

The Executive Directors and their terms of office are: Anita Dapalonia 1919-1921; Gertrude Piefer 1921-1924; Alice May 1924-1927; Helen Dower Kavanagh 1927-1937; Helen Schmitz 1937---.

NEGRO COMMUNITY CENTER

A group of citizens organized the War Recreation Board of Des Moines in September, 1917. Six months later the name of this corporation was changed to War Camp Community Center, and still later to Community Service.

186

Copyright of Annals of Iowa is the property of State of Iowa, by & through the State Historical Society of Iowa and its content may not be copied or emailed to multiple sites or posted to a listserv without the copyright holder's express written permission. However, users may print, download, or email articles for individual use.